WhatsApp to roll out new privacy feature: Here's how it works

WhatsApp, privacy feature, blacklist, Android, iOS, WhatsApp feature

The new feature is available for WhatsApp beta users on Android and iOS.



By Web Report

Published: Thu 24 Oct 2019, 1:58 PM

Last updated: Thu 24 Oct 2019, 4:04 PM

Soon, WhatsApp is set to roll out a new feature to group privacy with a 'blacklist' option that blocks contacts from adding user to groups. 
According to Hindustan Times, the new feature was spotted by WABetaInfo which said WhatsApp is replacing 'Nobody', from the list of options for joining groups, with 'My Contacts Expect'.
Currently, WhatsApp lets users choose between 'Everyone', 'My Contacts' and 'Nobody'. While the first two options for joining the groups are self-explanatory, choosing 'Nobody' triggers a group invitation sent to the user which expires in three days.
With the new update WhatsApp is replacing 'Nobody' with 'My Contacts Expect'. Now users will have to manually select people they wish to block from adding them to groups. The process however still remains the same and users who have been blacklisted will have to send a group invite instead.
The new feature is available for WhatsApp beta users on Android and iOS. By default 'Everyone' is selected for groups on WhatsApp.
To change this users can go to Settings > Account > Privacy > Groups.


More news from TECH