Enjoy our faster App experience

Dubai travel: Emirates resumes flights to five African countries

Flights to countries to start operating from January 29.

By Web Desk

Published: Thu 27 Jan 2022, 6:16 PM

Last updated: Thu 27 Jan 2022, 10:48 PM

Emirates will resume passenger operations between Dubai and five African countries starting January 29.

The restoration of services will include destinations such as Addis Ababa, Ethiopia; Dar El Salaam, Tanzania; Nairobi, Kenya; Harare, Zimbabwe; Emirates’ three South African gateways Johannesburg, Cape Town and Durban.

Here are the flights the airline will operate:

South Africa

Flights between Dubai and South Africa will operate as a daily flight to and from Johannesburg, effective January 29 and double daily services from February 1. Flights to and from Cape Town and Durban will operate daily from February 1.


Emirates will operate 10 weekly flights to Nairobi from January 29.


Emirates flights to Addis Ababa will operate daily from January 30.


Emirates will operate to Dar Es Salaam with five flights a week from January 30.


Emirates will operate to Harare with six weekly flights linked to its Lusaka service from January 30.

All passengers travelling from Emirates’ African network with Dubai as their final destination require a 48-hour PCR test. Passengers must present a valid negative Covid-19 PCR test certificate with a QR code for a test conducted at an approved facility, and validity must be calculated from the time the sample was collected.


Upon arrival in Dubai, passengers will undergo an additional Covid-19 PCR test and remain in self quarantine until the results of the test are received.

Passengers travelling from these destinations and transiting in Dubai are required to follow the rules and requirements of their final destination.

More news from Aviation