US lifts ban on refugees from 11 'high-risk' countries


US lifts ban on refugees from 11 high-risk countries

Washington - The changes include additional screening for people from the 11 countries.


  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Tue 30 Jan 2018, 9:32 AM

Last updated: Tue 30 Jan 2018, 4:48 PM

The United States announced on Monday it was lifting its ban on refugees from 11 "high-risk" countries, but said those seeking to enter the US would come under much tougher scrutiny than in the past.
Applicants from 11 countries, unnamed but understood to include 10 Muslim-majority nations plus North Korea, will face tougher "risk-based" assessments to be accepted.
"It's critically important that we know who is entering the United States," said Homeland Security Secretary Kirstjen Nielsen.
"These additional security measures will make it harder for bad actors to exploit our refugee program, and they will ensure we take a more risk-based approach to protecting the homeland."

More news from