UAE: Nominations now open for Dh37-million Emirates Labour Market Award

Two categories were added this year: One for labour accommodations and another for domestic workers


Angel Tesorero

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Top Stories

Dr Abdulrahman Al Awar, Minister of Human Resources and Emiratisation — KT Photo: Angel Tesorero
Dr Abdulrahman Al Awar, Minister of Human Resources and Emiratisation — KT Photo: Angel Tesorero

Published: Thu 7 Mar 2024, 1:06 PM

Last updated: Thu 7 Mar 2024, 11:01 PM

Nominations are now open for the Emirates Labour Market Award, which is back for its second edition to honour the best practices for workers’ rights and welfare.

The announcement was made on Thursday by the Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratisation (Mohre).

Two categories were added this year, including Labour Accommodations – where companies will be awarded for “their best investments in workers’ accommodations, additional services, sustainability practices and labour welfare initiatives". Another category is for domestic workers.

The total value of the award is now Dh37 million. The prize pool includes discounts on Mohre services, cash rewards, benefits and gifts.

In the workforce category, winners will get the following cash prizes: Dh100,000 for first place; Dh75,000 for second; and Dh50,000 for third.

Nomination details and procedures can be found on Mohre website.

Government and private sector partnership

Mohre Minister Dr. Abdulrahman Al Awar said Emirates Labour Market Award is “aimed at showcasing innovative experiences, fostering competitiveness, and leveraging partnerships between the government and the private sector. This collaboration has contributed to elevating the standards of the country's labour market.”

The award has five categories:

1. Companies: This is for companies that adopted best practices in their human resources, based on criteria such as recruitment, empowerment, skills attraction, workplace environment, quality of life, innovation, and readiness for the future.

2. Outstanding workforce: This one has three sub-categories – skilled labour, professional workforce, and domestic workers

3. Labour accommodations: This award is given for the best investments in labour accommodations and applying the best standards in facilities, additional services provided to workers, the adoption and implementation of sustainability initiatives, and workforce well-being.

4. Business services partners: This is for companies that have contributed to the development of leading labour market practices. This category has three sub-categories – domestic worker recruitment agencies, employment agencies, and business services centres

The companies winning the first place will receive the following benefits:

- The first place winners will receive discounts on ministry services with monetary savings of up to Dh1.5 million.

- Second place winners will also receive the same benefits with monetary savings of up to Dh1 million.

- The third place will receive the same benefits with monetary savings of up to Dh500,000.

The first edition of the award received more than 3,500 nominations and a total of 66 workers and companies were honoured last year.


More news from UAE