Umpiring errors cost Kiwis the World Cup

Umpire Simon Taufe.- File photo
Umpire Simon Taufe.- File photo

Sydney, Australia - Taufel, a member of the sport's chief rules committee, told media on Monday that match officials in the final made a big mistake.



By AFP

Published: Mon 15 Jul 2019, 11:00 PM

Last updated: Tue 16 Jul 2019, 1:30 AM

Former Australian umpire Simon Taufel claimed that England were mistakenly awarded an extra run during their dramatic ICC Cricket World Cup final win over New Zealand at Lord's.
Taufel, a member of the sport's chief rules committee, told media on Monday that match officials in the final made a big mistake. A freak fielding deflection off Ben Stokes' bat that raced to the boundary saw the team awarded six runs with three balls to go in the final over on Sunday.
Scores were tied at the end of regular play and the resulting Super Over shootout, with England then handed their first-ever World Cup victory for their superior boundary count.
But Taufel told Fox Sports Australia that umpires had made a "clear mistake", as the batsmen had not crossed for their second run. "They should have been awarded five runs, not six," he said, adding that England's Adil Rashid should have faced the second-last ball instead of Stokes as a result.


More news from Sports