India complete West Indies T20 series clean sweep

India complete West Indies T20 series clean sweep
Deepak Chahar of India celebrates a wicket during the third T20I against West Indies. (AFP)

Georgetown - Earlier, outstanding bowling by Deepak Chahar limited West Indies to 146 for six


Published: Tue 6 Aug 2019, 11:09 PM

Last updated: Wed 7 Aug 2019, 1:20 AM

India beat West Indies by seven wickets at the Guyana National Stadium in Providence on Tuesday to complete a clean sweep of the T20 international three-match series.
Rain delayed the concluding match by an hour but there was no stopping India who had clinched the series with back-to-back wins in Florida at the weekend.
They won the opening match by four wickets and the second by 22 runs on the DLS method.
Earlier, outstanding bowling by Deepak Chahar limited West Indies to 146 for six.
Chahar was one of three changes to the Indian team after they had sealed the series with victories in both matches at the weekend at the Central Broward Stadium in Florida.
His cunning and accurate medium-pace brought him figures of three for four off three overs after the Caribbean side were put in following a delayed start by almost an hour because of early morning rain.
Kieron Pollard again held the innings together with a top score of 58 and dominated a 66-run partnership with Nicholas Pooran (17) for the fourth wicket after they had slipped to 14 for three in just the fourth over.
Rovman Powell, who blazed a half-century in vain in the rain-affected second match in the United States on Sunday, then contributed a quick-fire 32 off 20 deliveries to give the innings some late impetus.
Chahar struck in his very first over when he had pinch-hitting opener Sunil Narine well caught by Navdeep Saini before removing the other opening batsman, Evin Lewis, and local hero Shimron Hetmyer, both leg-before.
Gangling fast bowler Saini, man of the match on his international debut in the opening encounter of the series on Saturday, broke the productive partnership between Pollard and Pooran when he had the junior partner caught behind.
He then bowled Pollard to end the veteran all-rounder's innings which spanned only 45 deliveries and was highlighted by six sixes and one four.
Given his senior international debut in this match in place of left-arm slow bowler Ravindra Jadeja, leg-spinner Rahul Chahar claimed the wicket of Carlos Brathwaite, the West Indies captain miscuing an attempted pull to be comfortably taken at long-on.


West Indies
E. Lewis lbw D. Chahar 1
S. Narine c Saini b D. Chahar 2
S. Hetmyer lbw D. Chahar 1
K. Pollard b Saini 58
N. Pooran c Pant b Saini 17
R. Powell not out 32
C. Brathwaite c Sundar b R. Chahar 10
F. Allen not out 8
Extras (lb4, w4) 8
Total (6 wkts, 20 overs) 146
Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Narine), 2-13 (Lewis), 3-14 (Hetmyer), 4-80 (Pooran), 5-105 (Pollard), 6-119 (Brathwaite)
Did not bat: K. Paul, S. Cottrell, O. Thomas
Bowling: B. Kumar 3-0-19-0, D. Chahar 3-1-4-3, N. Saini 4-0-34-2, R. Chahar 3-0-27-1, W. Sundar 3-0-23-0 (3w), K. Pandya 4-0-35-0 (1w)
K.L. Rahul c Pooran b Allen 20
S. Dhawan c Cottrell b Thomas 3
V. Kohli c Lewis b Thomas 59
R. Pant not out 65
M. Pandey not out 2
Extras (w1) 1
Total (3 wkts, 19.1 overs) 150
Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Dhawan), 2-27 (Rahul), 3-133 (Kohli)
Did not bat: K. Pandya, D. Chahar, W. Sundar, B. Kumar, R. Chahar, N. Saini
Bowling: S. Cottrell 4-0-26-0, O. Thomas 4-0-29-2 (1w), F. Allen 3-0-18-1, S. Narine 4-0-29-0, C. Brathwaite 2.1-0-25-0, K. Paul 2-0-23-0
Result: India won by seven wickets
Toss: India
Umpires: Nigel Duguid (WIS), Leslie Reifer (WIS)
Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

More news from Sports