Narratiive Tags - Khaleej Times Desktop
Dubai
Logo
 

When is the next public holiday in the UAE? Here’s the complete list

Web Report/Dubai
Filed on April 2, 2019 | Last updated on August 18, 2019 at 08.20 am
When is the next public holiday in the UAE? Here’s the complete list

(KT file)

The UAE Cabinet approved public holidays for the public sector for the years 2019-2020.

The UAE government in March announced that private sector employees will get more holidays in the country, in line with the number of days enjoyed by the public sector employees. (Detailed report: UAE private sector to get more holidays)

According to the announcement, the UAE Cabinet approved public holidays for the public sector for the years 2019-2020, and granted the private sector equal official holidays - a total of 14 official public holidays.

The decision aims at enhancing the balance between the two sectors and supporting the national economy in its various fields.

The decision will contribute to streamlining work in both the public and private sectors, and enhance the attractiveness of the private sector for Emiratis.

The decision will also make it easier for citizens and residents to plan their vacations in advance and to strengthen social ties between all segments of the society.

Here's the complete list of public, private sector holidays after March 5th's announcement:

Official holidays, and national and religious occasions Date (Islamic calendar) Date (Gregorian calendar) Holiday duration
New Year 24 Rabi Al-Aakhir 1440 Tuesday 1 January 2019 1
Israa Wal Miraj 27 Rajab 1440 Wednesday 3 April 2019 0
Half of Shaban month 15 Sha'ban 1440 Saturday 20 April 2019 0
Beginning of Ramadan 1 Ramadan 1440 Monday 6 May 2019 0
Bader Al-Kubra 17 Ramadan 1440 Wednesday 22 May 2019 0
Fateh Macca 20 Ramadan 1440 Saturday 25 May 2019 0
Lailat Al Qader 27 Ramadan 1440 Saturday 1 June 2019 0
29 and 30 Ramadan 29 Ramadan 1440 Monday 3 June 2019 1
Eid Al Fitr 29 Ramadan-3 Shawwal 1440 Wednesday 5 June 2019 4
Arafat (Haj) day 9 Zul Hijjah 1440 Saturday 10 August 2019 1
Eid Al Adha 10-12 Thul-Hijjah 1440 Sunday 11 August 2019 3
Hijri New Year 1 Muharram 1441 Saturday 31 August 2019 1
Ashura Day 10 Muharram 1441 Monday 9 September 2019 0
Flag Day 6 Rabi Al-Awwal 1441 Sunday 3 November 2019 0
Prophet's Birthday 12 Rabi Al-Awwal 1441 Saturday 9 November, 2019 0
Commemoration Day 3 Rabi Al-Aakhir 1441 Sunday, 1 December  2019 1
National Day 48  5-6 Rabi Al-Aakhir 1441 2 Monday to 3 December, 2019 2

ERROR: Macro /ads/dfp-ad-article-new is missing!
MORE FROM UAE
MORE FROM Khaleej Times
CurrentRequestUnmodified: /apps/pbcs.dll/article?avis=KT&date=20200918&category=ARTICLE&lopenr=200918868&Ref=AR&profile=1004 macro_action: article, macro_profile: , macro_adspot:
 
 
 
 
 
 
KT App Download
khaleejtimes app

All new KT app
is available
for download:

khaleejtimes - android khaleejtimes - ios khaleejtimes - HUAWEI AppGallery