New IPL team named Sahara Pune Warriors

Top Stories

New IPL team named Sahara Pune Warriors

The new Indian Premier League (IPL) team owned by the Sahara India Parivar will be known as Sahara Pune Warriors.


  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 11:40 AM

Last updated: Mon 6 Apr 2015, 2:14 AM

The name and the logo of the team - a warrior sitting on a horse - was unveiled here Saturday by Sahara India chairman Subroto Roy.

”It is a moment of great happiness for us to announce the name of the Pune IPL team for the people of the city and cricket enthusiasts across the world,” he said.

The event was anchored by Bollywood actress Urmila Matondkar and director Mahesh Manjerakar.

Sahara Adventure Sports Group had won the Pune franchise for a whopping $370 million. They bid for three cities - Ahmedabad, Nagpur and Pune and later chose Pune as their base.

The other franchise went to Rendezvous Sports World Limited which clinched Kochi as the other new IPL team.

The two new teams will join the IPL season from the 2011 season.

More news from