Pakistan: Covid PCR test not required for passengers from 24 countries

Dubai - Two Gulf countries on revised list issued by Pakistan.

(AFP file photo used for illustrative purpose)
(AFP file photo used for illustrative purpose)

By Waheed Abbas

Published: Sun 31 Jan 2021, 4:48 PM

Last updated: Sun 31 Jan 2021, 4:54 PM

Pakistan’s Civil Aviation Authority has reduced the number of countries from where passengers can travel to Pakistan without a negative Covid-19 PCR test.

DON'T MISS: Pakistan reduces PCR test validity for travellers from UAE

A total of 24 countries have been included in Category A as compared to 38 in the previous list released in September.

Apart from the two GCC countries of Qatar and Saudi Arabia, the other countries on the list are: Australia, China, Cuba, Finland, Ghana, Iceland, Iraq, Kazakhstan, Madagascar, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, New Zealand, Philippines, Rwanda, South Korea, Singapore, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago and Vietnam.

Entry for passengers flying into Pakistan from Category C countries is restricted. This list includes South Africa, the UK, Brazil, Ireland, Portugal and the Netherlands.

They’re allowed to enter the South Asian country only after getting permission from the National Command Operation Centre.

All the countries which are not mentioned in Category A and C have been included in Category B.

As per the latest notification from the Civil Aviation Authority, the validity of the negative Covid-19 PCR test requirement for passengers flying from Category B and C countries to Pakistan have been reduced from 96 hours to 72.

More news from coronavirus