Germany restricts travel from coronavirus variant countries

Berlin - Restrictions on travel from Brazil, Britain, Portugal and South Africa.

By Reuters

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Sat 30 Jan 2021, 12:02 PM

Germany will impose restrictions on travel from Brazil, Britain, Portugal and South Africa, the countries in which more infectious variants of the coronavirus are in wide circulation, according to a draft government regulation seen by Reuters.

Also read: France imposes travel ban on non-EU countries

"In addition to existing test and quarantine rules ... a temporary limitation shall be imposed on carriage of travellers from countries designated as regions with variants," reads the regulation.

Health officials have grown increasingly worried about the new variants which, by being more infectious and spreading more quickly, are able more rapidly to bring health systems to a point of overload.

Other European Union governments are considering similar measures, the government document added.


More news from