Filipinos are banned from working in these countries


Filipinos are banned from working in these countries

Dubai - They were deemed 'off-limits' in an advisory

By Web Report

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Thu 4 Jan 2018, 5:12 PM

The Philippine Overseas Employment Authority (POEA) has reminded Filipino expats across the world, the UAE included, that 24 countries still remain off-limits to overseas Filipino workers (OFWs) for 2018.
According to the POEA memo retrieved by the Manila Bulletin, Advisory 21 series of 2017 said that 24 countries and territories were placed under a pending deployment ban due to their unsuitable security and economic conditions which could endanger the lives of Filipinos.
"Except when specified, the coverage of this advisory shall apply to land-based deployment and will remain valid unless updated by subsequent issuance(s)," the POEA said.
Of the 24 countries and territories, total deployment ban was imposed on nine countries due to their unstable peace and order situation. These are Afghanistan, Somalia, Sudan (except Khartoum and Kenana Sugar Plantation in the White Nile), Great Lakes Region (Rwanda and Burundi), Syria, Yemen, Iraq, and Chechnya Republic.
A total deployment ban covers all skills categories and applies to both new and returning OFWs.
Meanwhile, South Sudan, Iraqi Kurdistan Region, Libya and Ukraine fell under an existing partial deployment ban.
In a partial deployment ban, new OFWs are prohibited from going to the listed countries. Returning OFWs are still allowed to work there provided they comply with certain conditions laid down by the government.
Palau fell under a conditional deployment restriction by POEA. It only covers Filipino household service workers (HSWs) since they were not given suitable working conditions by their employer.
Lastly, the list also includes 11 countries, which were not certified by the Department Foreign Affairs (DFA) as compliant to Republic Act 10022 or the Amended Migrant Workers Act.
These countries were Afghanistan, Chad, Cuba, North Korea, Haiti, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Palestine, Somalia and Zimbabwe.

More news from