Cricket World Cup semi-final: India win toss, elect to bat against New Zealand

The battle between rivals is being held at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai


  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Top Stories

Photo: AFP file
Photo: AFP file

Published: Wed 15 Nov 2023, 12:09 PM

Last updated: Thu 16 Nov 2023, 11:23 AM

India skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and opted to bat against New Zealand in the World Cup semi-final clash at the Wankhede Stadium on Wednesday.

The Men in Blue have set out to seek revenge for their 2019 semi-final World Cup defeat, when Martin Guptill's runout broke the hearts of the Indian fans.

Indian skipper Rohit Sharma said, "We are gonna bat first. Looks like a good pitch. Looks like on the slower side. Whatever we do, we need to do well. I think it was back in 2019 when we played the semis. NZ is one of the most consistent sides. Very important day. Constantly, talking about how important it is abiut turning up on that day. Same team."

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson said during the time of toss, "We would have batted first. Hopefully, some dew later. Amazing occasion. Four years ago, similar situation but a different location. They have been playing some good cricket. Always a building phase between the tournaments. Need to assess what is in front of you when the tournament starts. We are going with the same team from the previous match."

India squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishan Kishan, Prasidh Krishna, Suryakumar Yadav.

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Will Young.


More news from Sports