Zimbabwe send Pakistan in to bat in first T20I

Filed on April 21, 2021
Babar Azam was dismissed for only 2 in first T20 against Zimbabwe. — Twitter

The tourists gave 25-year-old left-handed batsman Danish Aziz his T20I debut

Zimbabwe captain Sean Williams won the toss and opted to bowl in the first Twenty20 International against Pakistan in Harare on Wednesday.

Zimbabwe started the match on the wrong foot when their experienced batsman Brendan Taylor was ruled out with fitness problems.

Pakistan are resting their spearhead Shaheen Shah Afridi after he played in all six matches across the one-day and Twenty20 International series in South Africa earlier this month.

The tourists gave 25-year-old left-handed batsman Danish Aziz his T20I debut.

The two other matches will also be played in Harare on Friday and Sunday.


Pakistan: Babar Azam (capt), Mohammad Rizwan, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Haider Ali, Danish Aziz, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Usman Qadir, Mohammad Hasnain, Haris Rauf

Zimbabwe: Sean Williams (capt), Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Wesley Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Craig Ervine, Ryan Burl, Regis Chakabva, Luke Jongwe, Wellington Masakadza, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava

Umpires: Iknow Chabi (ZIM) and Langton Rusere (ZIM)

TV umpire: Christopher Phiri (ZIM)

Match Referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

ERROR: Macro /ads/dfp-ad-article-new is missing!
MORE FROM Khaleej Times
CurrentRequestUnmodified: /sport/cricket/chris-gayle-returns-to-west-indies-t20-squad-after-two-year-absence macro_action: article, macro_profile: ,1051,1049 macro_adspot:
KT App Download
khaleejtimes app

All new KT app
is available
for download:

khaleejtimes - android khaleejtimes - ios khaleejtimes - HUAWEI AppGallery