Indian seamers rip through New Zealand’s top order

New Zealand captain Daniel Vettori’s decision to bat first completely misfired on Saturday when Indian seamers dismissed half his side after a delayed start to the third test.

By (Reuters)

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Sat 20 Nov 2010, 1:09 PM

Last updated: Mon 6 Apr 2015, 2:48 AM

Shanthakumaran Sreesanth and Ishant Sharma picked up two wickets apiece to reduce New Zealand to 72 for five at tea on the opening day at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium.

Jesse Ryder (26) and Gareth Hopkins (7) were at the crease at the end of an extended session after a wet outfield prevented play getting underway in a match that could decide the series after draws in the first two tests.

Martin Guptill edged a beautiful outswinger from Sreesanth to India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni behind the stumps, while fellow opener Tim McIntosh was late on another swinging delivery from the paceman to find his stumps uprooted.

Sharma then removed Ross Taylor leg before and Vettori played on to a short delivery to compound New Zealand’s miseries.

Left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha dismissed Kane Williamson, who scooped one straight to Virender Sehwag at short cover.

The visitors gambled by including Brendon McCullum, who injured himself during his warm-up, hoping that the last test’s double centurion could bat in the middle order.

Last Update: New Zealand opt to bat first in final test vs India

New Zealand captain Daniel Vettori won the toss and opted to bat first in the third and final test against India at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium on Saturday.

Ishant Sharma replaced the injured paceman Zaheer Khan in the Indian team while left-arm seamer Andy McKay will debut in place of Brent Arnel for New Zealand.

A wet outfield delayed the start of play by three hours. The series is tied at 0-0 after two drawn matches.

New Zealand - Tim McIntosh, Brendon McCullum, Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Jesse Ryder, Kane Williamson, Daniel Vettori (captain), Gareth Hopkins, Tim Southee, Andy McKay, Chris Martin.

India - Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (captain), Harbhajan Singh, Ishant Sharma, Pragyan Ojha, Shanthakumaran Sreesanth.

More news from