Bangladesh beat India to win U-19 Cricket World Cup

Top Stories

bangladesh, india, u-19 world cup final

Potchefstroom - It was the first time that any Bangladesh side had reached the final of an ICC tournament.


  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Sun 9 Feb 2020, 11:38 AM

Last updated: Mon 10 Feb 2020, 1:04 AM

Bangladesh beat India to win their first Under-19 Cricket World Cup on Sunday.
Earlier, sharp bowling from the fiery Bangladesh pacers and good fielding coupled with some slack running between the wickets led to India folding for 177 in the ICC U19 World Cup final on Sunday in Potchefstroom.
Opener Yashasvi Jaiswal was the standout performer for India, scoring 88 off 121 balls. He has scored at least a half century in all but one match in this tournament, and ends it as top scorer with a whopping 400 runs.

However, his team mates fell in a pack to Bangladesh who came out all guns blazing.
Also read: India thrash Pakistan to reach final

Leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi finished the U-19 World Cup with 17 wickets, the highest in the tournament and also the most by an Indian in the tournament.
The 19-year old from Jodhpur produced a sensational spell of spin bowling with his googlies spelling doom for Bangladesh batters.

Defending a paltry 177, defending champions India needed quick wickets but Bangladesh made a steady start with openers Parvez Hossain Emon and Tanzid Hasan taking them to 50/0. Then Bishnoi came and wrecked havoc as his googly removed Tanzid off the fifth ball in his first over. He then bowled Mahmudul Hasan Joy, trapped Towhid Hridoy in front and had Shahadat Hossain stumped.

His figures at the end of 10 overs read 4/30.

Meanwhile, oepner Yashasvi Jaiswal finished the tournament as the highest run-scorer with 400 runs to his name from six innings.

Jaiswal scored 88 off 121 balls in the final against Bangladesh on the back of his unbeaten 105 in the semifinal against arch-rivals Pakistan. He ended the tournament with four half centuries and one hundred to his name and scored at least a half century in all but one match in this tournament.
In the first innings, India were put to bat first after Bangladesh won the toss and openers Jaiswal and Divyaansh Saxena were greeted with a barrage of deliveries angled at the body and cramping them for space. Saxena was, especially, targeted by Tanzim Hasan Sakib with the ball and verbally. It took India 14 balls to finally get their first run.

The constant pressure from Sakib and Shoriful Islam eventually did the trick when Saxena flashed at a delivery outside off stump and drove it straight to backward point. Avishek Das was the man who got the wicket and it was his first over of the match.

After this came the most stable period of the Indian innings as Jaiswal and Tilak Varma stood their ground to the Bangladesh attack. Runs began to flow and Jaiswal scored his fifth 50 of the tournament. The pair also took India past the 100-run mark and their partnership was worth 94 runs.

It was Sakib who eventually got the breakthrough for Bangladesh with a short delivery that Varma looked to cut. The ball flew into the hands of the fielder at deep backward point.

Jaiswal then found able company in wicketkeeper Dhruv Jorel but ended up falling to Shoriful Islam eight overs later. He cramped Jaiswal for room and his attempted shot flew to short midwicket where Tanzid Hasan was standing.

India went on to lose their next six wickets for 21 runs in the next nine overs. Islam dismissed Siddesh Veer off the very next ball of the over after which Jorel and Ravi Bishnoi were both run out due to mix-ups between the wicket. Atharva Ankolekar and Kartik Tyagi were dismissed by Avishek while Sushant Mishra fell to Sakib.

Bangladesh: Parvez Hossain Emon, Tanzid Hasan, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Towhid Hridoy, Shahadat Hossain, Shamim Hossain, Avishek Das, Akbar Ali (C,WK), Rakibul Hasan, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib

India: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Divyaansh Saxena, Tilak Varma, Dhruv Jurel (WK), Priyam Garg (C), Siddhesh Veer, Atharva Ankolekar, Ravi Bishnoi, Sushant Mishra, Kartik Tyagi, Akash Singh

More news from