Bangalore Royal Challengers win by 12 runs

Bangalore Royal Challengers have won the toss and elected to bat gainst Deccan Chargers in their Indian Premier League match. The match is crucial for both the teams. Pandey lifted Bangalore to 170/4. They won the match by 12 runs.

Published: Thu 21 May 2009, 8:23 PM

Last updated: Thu 2 Apr 2015, 8:48 AM

Semi-final line up:

Delhi v Deccan on Friday (22nd May), Bangalore v Chennai on Saturday (23rd May)

Bangalore bagged a competitive score by the help of Manish Pandey, who stormed into the IPL record books by becoming the first Indian to score a century in the league.

After a rocking start to their IPL campaign, Bangalore lost a string of matches under Pietersen's leadership. It was left to Kumble to master his resources and take the team out of the hole. Much to the delight of the Bangalore fans Kumble's shrewd leadership, taking their tally of IPL wins to seven. While Kallis, Taylor and Dravid have been the pillars in the batting department, the bowling has been provided stability with Kumble, Praveen Kumar and van De merwe in the Bangalore ranks.

Hyderabad have had many ups and downs in the tournament through-out this season, getting off to a good start, losing their footing in between and coming back as a contender to the semi-finals berth. Deccan Chargers have a batting line-up of match winners with the likes of Adam Gilchrist and Herschelle Gibbs at the top of the order and Andrew Symonds and Rohit Sharma in the middle. The bowling for Hyderabad has grown from strength to strength with RP Singh and Pragyan Ojha amongst the wickets.

Royal Challengers Bangalore : RV Uthappa, JH Kallis, R Dravid, LRPL Taylor, V Kohli, RE van der Merwe, MV Boucher, P Kumar, B Akhil, A Kumble, M Pandey

Deccan Chargers: AC Gilchrist, HH Gibbs, TS Suman, RG Sharma, Y Venugopal Rao, A Symonds, AA Bilakhia, Jaskaran Singh, RJ Harris, RP Singh, PP Ojha

More news from