UAE to Attend Arab Summits on Gaza

ABU DHABI - The UAE will attend an emergency Arab Summit on Gaza crisis in Doha. Fifteen Arab states have agreed to attend the summit, expected to be held on Friday.

By (Ahmed Abdul Aziz)

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Thu 15 Jan 2009, 2:31 AM

Last updated: Mon 6 Apr 2015, 1:37 AM

The UAE will also attend the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC ) summit in Riyadh, called by Saudi Arabia.

“The UAE has agreed to attend the extraordinary Arab summit that is planned to be held in Doha on Friday,” said a statement carried by Wam news agency. Qatar on Monday sought an emergency summit to discuss Israel’s offensive on Gaza that has killed about 1,000 Palestinians.

The UAE’sparticipation wouldcomplete the two-third quorum of the 22member countries necessary for the summit, spokesperson of the Arab League Abdel Alim Al Abyad said in Cairo on Wednesday. The UAEdecision came after Egypt and Saudi Arabiadeclined to attend the summit.

Amr Moussa, Secretary-General of the Arab League, said in the Egyptian capital Cairo that other Arab states are being contacted to attend the conference.Commenting on the UAE decision, Ahmed Shabib Al Dhahiri, member of the Foreign Affairs Committee at the Federal National Council, told Khaleej Timesfrom Istanbul that the Palestinian crisis is one of the important issues on the UAE agenda at the summit.

“The UAE support will never stop,” he said. “There is no choice other than a ceasefire. Apeace agreement should ensurethe establishment ofthe Palestine state with its capital in Jerusalem and the Palestinians’ right to go back to their land occupied by Israel,” added Al Dhahiri. Palestinian Ambassador to the UAE Dr Khairi Al Oridi praised the country for its continued support tothe Palestinians. Hecalled on the Arab states to stand united.

“The current situation is really critical and we need the support of all 22 Arab states. Hence,a unifiedstand would be the only way to resolve the crisis,” he said.

Besides the UAE, Qatar, Oman, Syria, Morocco, Libya, Mauritania, Algeria, Sudan, Lebanon, Yemen, Djibouti, Somalia, the Comoros, and the Palestinian Authority will attend the summit, according to the Arab League.

More news from