Two activists, a woman make it to Oman Majlis

Some more members from the newly-elected Shura are also expected to be inducted into the cabinet

By A correspondent

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Top Stories

Photo: AFP
Photo: AFP

Published: Sun 16 Oct 2011, 6:25 PM

Last updated: Thu 2 Feb 2023, 6:45 PM

Voter turnout for the Majlis Al Shura seventh term elections was at its maximum in places which had borne the brunt of pro-reforms protests earlier this year.

Following this trend, the results declared here on Sunday, saw two pro-reform activists and a lone woman among prominent candidates to secure their places in the 84-member council.

Salim bin Abdullah Al Oufi from Izki in Dakhkliya region and Talib Al Maamari, an academician from Liwa in Batinah region, were two of the activists who rode on their popularity to the Majlis Al Shura, while Nu’amah bint Jamayel bin Farhan Al Busaidiyah, the woman candidate from Seeb wilayat in Muscat governorate, has the distinction of being the only woman member.

The protests had triggered unprecedented interest in the elections as His Majesty Sultan Qaboos bin Said of Oman selected a few ministers from the previous council bowing to popular demand. Some more members from the newly elected Shura are also expected to be inducted into the cabinet.

According to Sayyid Mohammed bin Sultan Al Busaidi, Undersecretary of the Interior Ministry and Chairman of the Main Elections Committee, the wilayats of Sohar, Ibri, Barka, Ibri, Salalah and A’Suwaiq witnessed maximum turnout of voters.

While expressing his satisfaction with the elections as well as the results, Al Busaidi pointed out that the voter turnout was around 76 per cent. He added that the number of voters who cast their votes amounted to 400,000 citizens, out of the 518,000 who had registered.

He also pointed out that the wilayats which had populations in excess of 30,000 are represented by two members each while those with less than 30,000 were allotted one seat.

As for increasing the representatives of the wilayats that are heavily populated, such as those having about 150,000 population or more, he said that this does not fall within the scope of jurisdiction of the Interior Ministry or the Election Organising Committee.

In response to a question on implementing the quota system for women in the council, Al Busaidi said that the women candidates did not come forward with such a request. However, he lauded the efforts of the Omani women who tried to win on their own merits and persistence. There were 77 women among the 1,133 candidates. In the previous elections only 23 women had contested and none of them won.

Al Busaidi said the election results have been made available for public scrutiny and any appeals against the winners can be filed within 10 days to the Main Elections Committee.

Meanwhile, the National Commission for Human Rights endorsed the elections while saying that the panel was happy with the smooth conduct of the voting process. Members of the commission had toured a number of polling centres to monitor the poll process in accordance with international human rights laws.

Jihad bin Abdullah Al Tai Committee, General Secretary of the National Human Rights Commission, said that their involvement came as part of the tasks entrusted to the Commission in accordance with Article VII of the terms of reference which provided to ensure the protection of human rights and freedom in the Sultanate.

Results were declared within 12 hours of voting as the use of electronic systems facilitated quick voting and counting processes.


Governorate of Muscat

Muscat: Mohammed bin Salim Al Wahaibi.

Bausher : Mohammed bin Salim Al Busaidi and Hamoud bin Khalifa Al Rashdi.

Muttrah: Tawfiq bin Abdulhussein Al Lawati and Murad bin Ali Al Hooti

Quriyat: Salim bin Hamoud Al Ghamari and Said bin Jumah Al Ghazaili.

Amaraat: Ahmed bin Saud Al Ma’ashari and Mohammed bin Said Al Hadi.

Seeb: Mohammed bin Jumah Al Raisi and Nu’amah bint Jamayel Al Busaidi.

Batinah Region

Sohar: Kadhim bin Al Ajmi and Saeed bin Ghanim Al Muqbali.

Maawil: Khalid bin Hilal Al Ma’awali

Awabi: Al Khalil bin Abdulraheem AL Kharousi.

Nakhal : Salim bin Al Braiki .

Liwa: Talib bin Al Maamari.

Rustaq: Zayed bin Khalfan Al Abri and Salim bin Hamoud Al Shikaili.

Saham: Ali bin Abdullah Al Badi and Sultan bin Rashid Al Buraiki

Shinaz: Yousef bin Ahmed Al Balushi and Talal bin Rajab al Matroshi.

Khabourah: Ali bin Khalfan Al Qutaiti and Fahd bin Al Hosani.

Suwaiq: Mohammed bin Khalid Al Rushaidi and Hamad bin Khamis Al Jadidi.

Birka:, Qasim bin Said Al Rushaidi and Mohammed bin Rashid Al Qanoobi.

Musanah: Rashid bin Mohammed Al Sa’adi and Nasser bin Khamis Al Khumaisi.

Buraimi Governorate

Al Shinaina: Ahmed bin Mohammed Al Shamsi.

Mahadha: Salim bin Ali AL Ka’abi.

Buraimi: Rashid bin Al Shamsi and Abdullah bin Mohammed Al Balushi.

Al Wusta Region

Haima: Hamoudah bin Mohammed Al Harsoosi.

Jazir: Nasser bin Yasser Al Junaibi.

Duqum : Salam bin Saqat Al Junaibi .

Mahout : Saleem bin Ali Al Hakamani.


Madha: Khalid bin Ahmed Al Sa’adi.

Bukha: Abdullah bin Ahmed Al Malik.

Dibha : Rashid bin Ali Al Shuhi.

Khasab: Mohammed bin Al Shuhi.

Dhofar governorate

Salalah: Salim bin Suhail bin A’Sam Bait Said and Salim bin Ali bin Ahmed Al Kathiri.

Maqshan: Saleh bin Mohammed Al Sha’asha’ei .

Thumrait: Salim bin Said bin Salim bin Ali Ghawas .

Rakhyut: Mohammed bin Al Amri .

Mirbat: Salim bin Mohammed Al Shihri.

Taqah: Salim bin Mohammed Al Mashani.

Mazyounah: Salim bin Said Al Hraizi.

Sadah: Ramis bin Amer Al Mahri

Dhalkut: Ahmed bin Salim bin Ali Ra’afeet.

Shleem Juzzr Al Halaniyat : Makhtoom bin Sa’ad Al Mahri.

A’ Sharqiya Region

Sur: Sa’ad bin Suhail Al Mukhaini Bahwan and Abdullah bin Salim Al Mukhaini.

Al Kamil Wa Al Wafi: Rashid bin Wany Al Hashmi.

Mudhaibi: Sultan bin Zayed Al Jahafi and Hilal bin Ali Al Jahafi.

Masirah : Abdullah bin Khalifa Al Mej’ali.

Dima Watayeen: Khalfan bin Nasser Al Hasni.

Wadi Bani Khalid : Ahmed bin Hussain Al Sa’adi.

Bidiyah: Salim bin Ali Al Hajri.

Ibra: Saleh bin Mohammed Al Maamari.

Al Qabil: Khalfan bin al Ghunaimi.

Ja’lan Bani Bu Hassan: Ali bin Salim Al Owaisi.

Ja’lan Bani Bu Ali: Sultan bin Abdullah Al Ja’afari and Hamoud bin Ali Al Saeedi.

Dhahira Region

Dhank: Maktoom bin Matar Al Azizi.

Yankul: Ali bin Hamad Al Badi.

Ibri: Sultan bin Majid Al Abri and Hamid bin Ali bin Humaid Al Nasseri.

Dakhiliyah Region

Adam: Ahmed bin Al Dur’ei.

Hamraa: Malik bin Hilal Al Abri.

Izki: Salim bin Abdullah Al Oufi and Zayed bin Khalifa Al Rashdi.

Manah: Ahmed bin Mohammed Al Busaidi.

Bahla: Badr bin Ali Al Maani and Zahran bin Abdullah Al Hinai

BidBid: Abdullah bin Mohammed Al Rahbi.

Sumayil : Abdullah bin Hamoud Al Nadabi and

Hamid bin Mohammed Al Rawahi.

Nizwa : Khalid bin Hilal A’Nabhani and Hamdan bin Nasser Al Rumaidhi.

More news from World