Bowlers, Maxwell spoil Dilshan's final match

Top Stories

Bowlers, Maxwell spoil Dilshans final match
Sri Lanka's Tillakaratne Dilshan receives a farewell from his teammates at the start of his final T20 international match against Australia.

Colombo - Dilshan scored just one off three balls in his final international game but took two wickets to add drama to Australia's chase


  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Fri 9 Sep 2016, 9:55 PM

Last updated: Sat 10 Sep 2016, 12:05 AM

Australian bowlers set up a four-wicket victory over Sri Lanka to spoil veteran batsman Tillakaratne Dilshan's farewell and sweep the two-match Twenty20 series in Colombo on Friday.
The visitors, who won the first match after scoring a world record 263, rode on opener Glenn Maxwell's 29-ball 66 to chase down their 129-run target with 13 balls to spare.
Earlier Aussie bowlers James Faulkner and Adam Zampa claimed three wickets each to restrict the hosts to 128 for nine despite Dhananjaya de Silva's fighting half-century.
Dilshan, who quit the one-day format in the middle of the five-match series which Sri Lanka lost 1-4, scored just one off three balls in his final international game but took two wickets to add drama to Australia's chase.
The 39-year-old Dilshan, who participated in 87 Tests, 330 ODIs and 80 T20s, was given a standing ovation by a raucous home crowd as he ended his 17-year-long glittering career.

However the inventor of the "dilscoop", the cheeky paddle shot played over the wicketkeeper's head, did not have a chance to execute the audacious stroke.
"We all know Dilshan is a legend in the cricket world. He is a match-winner and a game-changer," Sri Lankan skipper Dinesh Chandimal said of his teammate.
"He was my first one-day and Test captain, lucky to captain him in his last game. Thank you Dilshan. My team and I wish you all the best for the future."
Maxwell, fresh from his unbeaten 145 off 65 deliveries on Tuesday, once again turned the spotlight on himself after equalling an Australian record for the fastest T20 fifty in 18 balls.
"To mention Glenn Maxwell, the way he played in the last game and this game was phenomenal," Australia captain Warner said of his destructive opener who received the man of the match and the series award.
The 27-year-old batsman, who put on a 93-run opening stand with Warner, was bowled by leg-spinner Seekkuge Prasanna after hitting seven fours and four sixes.
Left-arm spinner Sachith Pathirana struck twice in the 10th over of the innings to get Moises Henriques and Warner, who scored 25, trudging back to the pavilion.
Faulkner's run out in the very next over gave Sri Lanka a scent of a turnaround as Australia suddenly found it difficult to get the remaining runs.
Dilshan then trapped Usman Khawaja lbw with his wily off-spin and got the wicket of Matthew Wade, who scored 14, in his very next over as Australia slipped from 93 for no loss to 120 for six.
Travis Head, who remained unbeaten on nine, hit the winning runs to help Australia finish the two-month long tour on a high after the visitors suffered their first series whitewash in the three Tests.
"It is a massive achievement for our one-day boys. The boys came here with high hopes and expectations for the number one team in the world. Credit to the bowlers," said Warner.
Sri Lanka
K. Perera c Warner b faulkner       22
T. Dilshan c Warner b Hastings       1
D. de Silva c Faulkner b Starc      62
D. Chandimal c&b Faulkner            4
K. Mendis lbw b Zampa                5
C. Kapugedara c Warner b Zampa 7
T. Perera c head b Zampa             0
S. Pathirana c&b Hastings            6
S. Prasanna c Khawaja b Faulkner 7
S. Senanayake not out                7
S. Lakmal not out                       0
Extras (lb 1, w 5, nb 1)              7
Total (9 wickets; 20 overs)        128
Fall of wickets: 1-9 (Dilshan), 2-44 (K. Perera), 3-51 (Chandimal), 4-58 (Mendis), 5-76 (Kapugedara), 6-76 (T. Perera), 7-86 (Pathirana), 8-114 (Prasanna), 9-125 (de Silva)
Bowling: Starc 4-0-32-1, Hastings 4-0-23-2, Maxwell 1-0-16-0, Faulkner 4-0-19-3, Zampa 4-0-16-3, Henriques 3-0-21-0
D. Warner c T. Perera b Pathirana      25
G. Maxwell b Prasanna                      66
M. Henriques st K. Perera b Pathirana   1
J. Faulkner run out                              1
M. Wade c Chandimal b Dilshan          14
U. Khawaja lbw b Dilshan                     6
T. Head not out                                   9
P. Nevill not out                                   3
Extras (lb 1, w 4)                                 5
Total (6 wickets; 17.5 overs)            130
Fall of wickets: 1-93 (Maxwell), 2-97 (Henriques), 3-98 (Warner), 4-99 (Faulkner), 5-113 (Khawaja), 6-120 (Wade)
Bowling: Lakmal 2-0-15-0, Senanayake 4-0-36-0, Pathirana 2.5-0-23-2, T. Perera 1-0-19-0, Prasanna 4-1-16-1, de Silva 2-0-12-0, Dilshan 2-0-8-2

More news from