Kuwait bans expat workers from 20 countries


Kuwait bans expat workers from 20 countries

Kuwait - The latest ban includes 5 countries.

By Web Report

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Sun 28 Apr 2019, 5:24 PM

Last updated: Mon 29 Apr 2019, 2:06 PM

The Kuwaiti General Directorate of Residence Affairs recently announced a ban on recruitment of domestic workers from five African countries.
The latest ban raises the list to 20 countries.
According  local media sources, the Kuwaiti ministry of foreign affairs issued a circular mentioning the names of the 5 countries, which include Ethiopia, Burkina Faso, Bhutan, Guinea and Guinea-Bissau.
Additionally, the other 15 African countries are Djibouti,Kenya, Uganda, Nigeria, Togo, Senegal, Malawi, Chad, Sierra Leone, Niger, Tanzania, the Gambia, Ghana, Zimbabwe and Madagascar.
The circular also included five other African countries whose domestic workers faced a temporary ban, including Cameroon, the Congo, Burundi, Eritrea and Liberia.

More news from