Shaikh Ahmed pockets title

DUBAI - Shaikh Ahmed bin Rashid Al Maktoum claimed the Jebel Ali Owners title as his trainer Dhruba Selvaratnam won the trainers’ equivalent and Richard Mullen clinched the Jockeys’ title on the final day of the Jebel Ali season at the outskirts of the city on Friday afternoon.

By Hisham Al Gizouli

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Sun 20 Mar 2011, 12:38 AM

Last updated: Tue 7 Apr 2015, 8:43 AM

Selvaratnam secured his lead over the trainers’ table after Mulaqat, ridden by William Buick, landed the 1950m Thoroughbreds Handicap, the official highlight of the six-race card. However, Wander Lawn, ridden by Kevin Shea, broke well and won the battle for the lead ahead of the six-runner field in the early stages of the round trip. Patrick Cosgrave pushed his mount to settle behind the pace setter and Carlos Cosgrave followed in his footsteps as the horses began to sort themselves out. But, the order of run was changed as the pack made their run up the hill. Mulaqat got up when William Buick said go and prevailed by a length on the line.

The partnership of Selvaratnam-Buick completed a quick double in the other feature race of the night, the 1400m Thoroughbreds Handicap. All eyes were on top weight Haatheq, ridden by Richard Hills, to smash the small field of eight runners in the second feature race of the afternoon, but the hilly track specialist Otaared produced an extremely high speed to do the better work close home and prevail by just a neck. After the late withdrawal of Lord Tiger on veterinary grounds, the 15 horses went under the starter’s orders in the opener in the 1600-metre Thoroughbreds Handicap. Tadhg O’Shea gave Graymalkin everything to win the first on the card and close the gap on Wayne Smith in the chase for the jockeys’ championship.

Next Move, under Carlos Sandoval, showed the way as UAE apprentice jockey Saeed Al Mazrooei put his mount Trust N Dust on the heels of the early speed and was always going well. Al Mazrooei looked like a winner when the pack hit the home straight before being lightly interrupted by Fantastic Dubai under Wayne Smith with less than two furlongs to go. The inexperienced jockey had to change course and lose ground at this crucial stage, before he fought to get second close home.

Alazeyab, ridden by Richard Hills landed the final race of the season, a 1200m Thoroughbreds handicap with full field of 16 runners going to post.

The Englishman completed his 26 winners of the season on the Ali Rashid Al Raihe-trained to boost the chances of his boss in retaining the trainers’ title which he won last season. Al Raihe levelled with Musabah Al Muhairi on 30 wins each with both national trainers racing in the final meet at the Abu Dhabi Equestrian Club as well as the World Cup night.

Apprentice English jockey harry Bentley partnered Kala Kanta to win the second race, a 1950m Thoroughbreds Handicap for trainer Satish Seemar.

The full field of 14 runners jumped from the machines in even line and the Brazilian colt Energia Central went directly to the lead. Mureb, under Patrick Cosgrave, came from nowhere to hit the front and held on courageously when challenged by the mount of Ted Durcan, Secretive, near post.

Richard Mullen partnered Kaiss to win the fifth race, a 1400m Thoroughbreds Handicap in great style. The four-year-old son of Seeking The Gold made his UAE debut in a handicap event over 1600m on turf at the Abu Dhabi Equestrian Club, but finished disappointingly sixth behind Iguazo Falls. But when he was shifted to the dirt over a shorter distance, he did everything right and showed the best of him when it mattered under pressure up the hill.


Race One

2.15pm Thoroughbreds Handicap 1600m (a 8f) sponsored by Shadwell. Purse: Dh70,000: 1. Graymalkin (Mubarak bin Shafya) Tadhg O’Shea 2. Trust N Dust (Ali Rashid Al Raihe) Saeed Al Mazrooei. 3. Paschendale (Musabah Al Muhairi) Frankie Dettori. Time: 1.39.20. Distances: 5L/ 0.75L

Race Two

2.45pm Thoroughbreds Handicap 1950m (a 9.75f) sponsored by Shadwell. Purse: Dh85,000: 1. Kala Kanta (Satish Seemar) Harry Bentley 2. Secretive (Mubarak bin Shafya) Ted Durcan. 3. King Charles (Abdulla bin Huzaim) Carlos Sanchez. Time: 2.00.21. Distances: 0.5L/ 4L

Race Three

3.45pm Thoroughbreds Handicap 1950m (a 9.75f) sponsored by Shadwell. Purse: Dh130,000: 1. Mulaqat (Dhruba Selvaratnam) William Buick 2. Submariner (Abdulla bin Huzaim) Carlos Sanchez 3. Rochdale (Ali Rashid Al Raihe) Royston Ffrench. Time: 2.00.53. Distances: 0.5L/ 1L

Race Four

4.15pm Thoroughbreds Handicap 1400m (a 7f) sponsored by Shadwell. Purse: Dh130,000: 1. Otaared (Dhruba Selvaratnam) William Buick 2. Haatheq (Ali Rashid Al Raihe) Richard Hills 3. Atlantic Brave (Musabah Al Muhairi) Wayne Smith. Time:1.24.69. Distances: SHD/ 4.5L

Race Five

4.45pm Thoroughbreds Handicap 1400m (a 7f) sponsored by Shadwell. Purse: Dh130,000: 1. Kaiss (Satish Seemar) Richard Mullen 2. Saboteur (Abdulla bin Huzaim) Jesus Rosalez 3. Canwinn (Dhruba Selvaratnam) William Buick. Time:1.25.50. Distances: HD/ 3L

Race Six

5.15pm Thoroughbreds Handicap 1200m (a 6f) sponsored by Shadwell. Purse: Dh120,000: 1. Alazeyab (Ali Rashid Al Raihe) Richard Hills 2. Qamar (Ismail Mohammed) Ted Duecan 3. Russian Rock (Musabah Al Muhairi) Lanfranco Dettori. Time:1.11.85. Distances: HD/ 1.75L

Yadav walks away with golf crown

DUBAI - Rahul Yadav took the individual honours at the inaugural Jet Airways-Orient Travel Golf Challenge at The Faldo Course of Emirates Golf Club.

On a day when the tough layout got the better of most participants, Yadav produced some solid golf to tally 35 points which were enough to get him the top individual prize ahead of runner-up Jignesh Sangani, who finished with 34 points.

The tournament, sponsored by Jet Airways and Orient Travels, was played as a team event as well, and it was the experienced combination of Ashok Galgotia, Moshe Kohli, Surender Kandhari and Abhijit Baruah, who took the first prize with a score of 79.

Rakesh Misra, Ashish Nanda, Bipin Bhatia and Pritpal Thethy, with 74 points, finished runners-up, a full five points behind the champion team.

Nearest to the Pin prizes were won by Ashish Nanda (on the eighth hole) and Veera Narayanaswamy (on the 12th).

Ashish Nanda had the longest drive on the fifth hole, while Madhu Bhatia took that prize on the 16th.

Ratan Ratnakar, Vice-President Middle East, Jet Airways, along with Shaikh Faisal Al Qasimi, President, Orient Travels, and Asim Arshad, CEO, Orient Travels, gave away the prizes.

Ratnakar said: “It was a pleasure to host some of the leading decision-makers of the UAE in the Jet Airways-Orient Travel Golf Challenge.”

Arshad, a keen golfer himself, said: “We have sponsored several golf tournaments over the past few years and it really is our way of saying thank you to our patrons. As always, we wanted it to be a fun get-together of good friends, but golf turned out to be extremely competitive again.”


Individual prizes: winner: Rahul Yadav 35 points, runner-up: Jignesh Sangani 34 points.

Team prizes: First: Ashok Galgotia , Moshe Kohli, Surender Kandhari, Abhijit Baruah 79 points. Second: Rakesh Misra , Ashish Nanda, Bipin Bhatia, Pritpal Thethy 74 points.

Nearest to the pins: Ashish Nanda (eighth hole), Veera Narayanaswamy (12th)

Longest drives: Ashish Nanda (fifth hole), Madhu Bhatia (16th).

More news from