India restrict Sri Lanka to 170

India put in a disciplined bowling performance to restrict Sri Lanka to 170 in a triangular one-day series match on Monday.

By (Agencies)

Published: Mon 16 Aug 2010, 7:10 PM

Last updated: Mon 6 Apr 2015, 2:19 AM

Paceman Praveen Kumar (2-20) rocked Sri Lanka’s top order when he bowled Upul Tharanga with the first ball of the match and then trapped former captain Mahela Jayawardene leg-before in his fourth over.

Left-arm spinners Pragyan Ojha (3-36) and Ravindra Jadeja (2-34) also kept pressure as India never allowed the hosts to build a big partnership in the day-night match in Dambulla.

Opener Tillakaratne Dilshan top-scored with a fighting 45 in Sri Lanka’s disappointing batting performance after the hosts elected to bat.

Dilshan was the fifth man to be dismissed, sweeping Ojha to Rohit Sharma at mid-wicket after hitting five fours in his 62-ball knock.

Sri Lanka, struggling at 103-7 in the 32nd over, managed to cross the 150-mark, thanks to gutsy knocks from Suraj Randiv (43) and Nuwan Kulasekara (22). Randiv hit four boundaries in his 61-ball knock.

Fast bowler Ishant Sharma took 2-32.

India made two changes from the side that lost to New Zealand by 200 runs in the opening match, replacing Yuvraj Singh - down with dengue fever - and Abhimanyu Mithun with batsman Virat Kohli and Ishant.

Sri Lanka, who beat New Zealand by three wickets in the previous match, brought in paceman Dilhara Fernando and spinner Randiv in place of Rangana Herath and Ajantha Mendis.

Each side will play the other twice in the preliminary league before the top two qualify for the final on August 28.

Sri Lanka vs. India Scoreboard


Upul Tharanga b Kumar 0

Tillakaratne Dilshan c R.Sharma b Ojha 45

Kumar Sangakkara c Ojha b Nehra 2

Mahela Jayawardene lbw b Kumar 4

Thilan Samaraweera c Jedeja b I.Sharma 7

Angelo Mathews lbw b Jadeja 15

Chamara Kapugedera b Jadeja 10

Suraj Randiv c Raina b Ojha 43

Nuwan Kulasekara c Dhoni b I.Sharma 22

Lasith Malinga st Dhoni b Ojha 5

Dilhara Fernando not out 6

Extras: (1b, 3lb, 7w) 11

TOTAL: (all out 170)

Overs: 46.1.

Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-14, 3-23, 4-44, 5-82, 6-83, 7-103, 8-142, 9-158, 10-170.

Bowling: Praveen Kumar 8-2-20-2 (1w), Ashish Nehra 9-0-39-1 (2w), Ishant Sharma 9-1-32-2 (1w), Pragyan Ojha 9.1-0-36-3 (2w), Ravindra Jadeja 10-2-34-2 (1w), Virender Sehwag 1-0-5-0.

Toss: Sri Lanka.

Umpires; Ranmore Martinesz, Sri Lanka and Azad Rauf, Pakistan.

TV Umpire: Tyron Wijewardena, Sri Lanka, Match Referee: Alan Hurst, Australia.

More news from Cricket