Exceptional women leaders honoured

DUBAI — Shaikha Amina bint Humaid Al Tayer, Chairperson of Dubai Women’s Association, received the top award of Middle East Woman Personality of the Year 2007.

By A Staff Reporter

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Sat 10 Mar 2007, 8:26 AM

Last updated: Sun 5 Apr 2015, 3:54 AM

The Middle East Businesswomen and Leaders Achievements Awards 2007 of the Middle East Excellence Awards Institute, were presented at a glittering ceremony at Madinat Jumeirah Hotel on Thursday, March 8.

Exceptional women leaders from different sectors were given the awards for their outstanding achievements in their respective fields.

The other awards included Woman Achiever of the Year, Businesswoman of the Year, Woman in Technical Field, Woman in Education Services, Woman in Political Affairs, and ICT Woman of the Year.

Dr. Mervat Tellawi, Under-Secretary General of the United Nations and Executive Secretary of UN-ESCWA, was the keynote speaker at the awards ceremony.

Addressing the gathering, Raja Al Gurg, President of Dubai Businesswomen’s Council, stressed the key role of women in economic development, politics, commerce and social affairs.

Ali Al Kamali, Chief Organiser and Managing Director of the Middle East Excellence Awards Institute, said: “The criteria for the awards are original ideas, value addition to the organisation, adaptation of new technology, and enhancing performance in trying business and industrial situations.”

The four winners of the Woman Achievers of the Year 2007 are:

Dr Fatima Al Beloushi, Minister of Social Affairs, Bahrain, for her accomplishments in public services

Muna Abusulayman, Executive Manager, Kingdom Foundation, KSA, for her achievements in regional and international relations

Madawi Abdullah Al Hassoun, Managing Director, Madawi Al Hassoun Establishment, Member of Board, Jeddah Chamber of Commerce, for her achievements in business and community affairs

Manal Shaheen, Director of Sales, Marketing & Customer Services, Nakheel, for her achievements in professional career.

The other major award winners are

Elaine Jones, CEO, Asteco Property Management, UAE: Businesswoman of the Year 2007.

Nazek Al Sabbagh, Chief Engineering Officer, PCFC, Civil Engineering Department: Woman in Technical Field

Fatma Al Marri, Member, Dubai Education Council, Member, FNC, UAE: Woman in Education

Amal Abdullah Al Kubaissi, Member, FNC, UAE: Woman Political Achiever of the Year 2007

Rula Abu Daher Rabih, Chief Technical Officer, MTC Touch: ICT Woman of the Year 2007.


Dr Fatima Al Beloushi

Muna Abusulayman

Madawi Abdullah

Manal Shaheen

Elaine Jones

Nazek Al Sabbagh

Fatma Al Marri

Amal Abdullah

Rula Abu Daher Rabih

More news from