UAE to host ICC T20 qualifiers

UAE captain Khurram Khan and head coach Aaqib Javed with the ICC WT20Q UAE 2013 trophy and a group of children who all attend the ICC Academy.

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Wed 16 Oct 2013, 11:54 AM

Last updated: Tue 7 Apr 2015, 7:07 PM

DUBAI— The ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier UAE 2013 gets underway in 30 days. Hosted in Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Sharjah, the event features 16 teams from across the globe battling it out for a top six finish and a place at the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014.

The event will be played at Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi Ovals 1 and 2, Sharjah Cricket Stadium and the ICC Academy Ovals 1 and 2 in Dubai from 15 to 30 November.

Looking ahead to the event, UAE captain Khurram Khan said: “It’s really exciting that once again the UAE has the opportunity to host the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifiers. It will be a great opportunity for fans of the game, across the region, to come out and support the UAE and all the teams competing for those six places in Bangladesh next year.” The ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier has grown in stature since it was first held in Belfast, Ireland, in August 2008. That event comprised the then six top Associate Members – Bermuda, Canada, Ireland, Kenya, Netherlands and Scotland.

Ireland and Netherlands shared the trophy when the final was washed out without a ball being bowled.

The two sides, along with Scotland — which subsequently replaced Zimbabwe — qualified for the ICC World Twenty20 2009, which was staged in England. Pakistan won the tournament beating Sri Lanka in the final.

The UAE hosted the second edition of the tournament in February 2010, which was contested by eight teams, the six sides having T20I status — Afghanistan, Canada, Ireland, Kenya, Netherlands and Scotland — as well as the host, UAE, and United States of America (USA), which were specially invited by the ICC.

After 17 matches over six days at two venues in Dubai and Abu Dhabi, Afghanistan and Ireland reached the final and qualified for the ICC World Twenty20 2010 which was staged in the West Indies and won by England. Afghanistan won the qualifying tournament when it defeated Ireland by eight wickets.

More news from