4th straight Bukhatir title for NMC

SHARJAH — Shadeep Silva returned with a stunning six-wicket haul as New Medical Centre (NMC) defeated ECB Blues by 62 runs in the final to win the 36th Ten Sports Bukhatir League ‘A’ Division Tournament, organised by the Sharjah Cricket Council, at the Sharjah stadium.

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Mon 15 Nov 2010, 11:47 PM

Last updated: Mon 6 Apr 2015, 2:47 AM

With this convincing victory, NMC have made it four-in-a-row in the longest-running tournament in the country, an impressive feat indeed.

Shadeep conceded just 16 runs for his six wickets to dash ECB Blues’ hopes of overhauling a competitive score of NMC.

Shadeep, who took a total of 15 wickets for 110 runs in five matches, was later declared the best bowler of the tournament.

One of the premier outfits from Abu Dhabi, NMC scored 192 before being all in the 39th over after being put in by ECB Blues.

Ehsan Ali led their batting charge, hitting 64 off 69 balls with seven fours. Nalin Thenuwara (44 off 39 balls with two fours and two sixes) further consolidated the innings with some lusty hitting.

Arfan Haider emerged as the most successful ECB Blues bowler, taking four wickets for 28 runs while Qasim Zubair and Asim Khurshid also tasted success with the ball, picking two wickets each.

Frontline ECB Blues’ batsmen, however, failed to deliver and undid all the hard work done by their bowlers. Only Abdul Rehman (41 off 74 balls with one four) and Ahmed Raza (24 off 50 balls with one four) offered some worthwhile resistance to a charged up NMC attack.

In the end, ECB Blues could manage only a modest 130 all out in 35.3 overs. Shadeep, who ripped through the tentative ECB Blues batting, was well supported by Manjula Guruge who snared three wickets for 23 runs to seal a comfortable win for NMC.

Brief scores: NMC beat ECB Blues by 62 runs. NMC 192 all out in 38.1 overs (Ehasan Ali 64, Nalin Thenuwara 44; Arfan Haider 4-28, Qasim Zubair 2-30, Asim Khurshid 2-36) vs ECB Blues 130 all out in 35.3 overs (Abdul Rehman 41, Ahmed Raza 24; Shadeep Silva 6-16, Manjula Guruge 3-23). Man-of-the-final: Shadeep Silva.

More news from