Alo Pura asserts supremacy

Alo Pura asserted her supremacy as top sprinter by winning the 1200m Al Tayer Motors to set a new track time record of 1.10.34 which is point 40 seconds less than the record established by War Artist last February.

By Hisham Al Gizouli

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Fri 17 Dec 2010, 10:00 AM

Last updated: Mon 6 Apr 2015, 5:21 AM

Trained by Dhruba Selvaratnam and ridden by William Buick, the six-year-old Anabaa mare raced against the fences before she made a smooth progress to hit the front and held on courageously under pressure on the line.

Earlier in the evening, Richard Mullen partnered international favourite Treachery to land the 1900m Maiden Ford Explorer Trophy, the curtain raiser of the evening, in great style.

With a full field of 14 runners lining up for honours, Patrick Dobbs astride Myownway, left the machines very quickly and set a very good pace. Treachery was always going well on the outside before the jockey shook the reins and the brilliant Dr Fong gelding responded keenly to hit the front at the home turn and sprint home unchallenged.

Royston Ffrench rode Green Beret to glory in the second race, a 1200m Thoroughbreds Handicap Ford Taurus Trophy, to cross the line ahead of fast finishing My Verse under William Buick. International favourite Indian Skipper, ridden by Tadhg O’Shea, was a length and three quarters back in third.

The four-year-old gelded son of Yaruz broke very well to emerge the easiest of winners on the line. Tayyab, ridden by Wayne Smith, missed the break to finish fourth of the eight-runner field.

The winner covered the six-furlong distance in 1m10s.84 just point eight of a second behind the track record set by War Artist for the same trip during the recent Dubai International racing Carnival.

Comradeship produced extremely high speed to lead a field of 12 runners home in the 100m Thoroughbreds Rated Conditions Ford Mustang Trophy third race on the card.

The three-year-old son of Dubawi has at last found his strides in the hands and heels of Erhan Yavus to lead by more than six lengths before being eased close home.

Trainer Rashed Bouresly said: “Comradeship came from Europe with a very good form when he was trained by John Gosden, but he did not show the best of him in his foue starts in the UAE due to some training problems.”

Bouresly clarified that he has been sick and couldn’t look after the horses until recently and that’s why most of his horses didn’t impress so far.

Trainer Satish Seemar completed a quick double after apprentice jocky Harry Bentley guided unfancied Western Adventure home in the 1600m Thoroughbreds Handicap Ford Edge Trophy, the fourth race of the evening.

The claiming jockey made the best of the three kilos allowance which have been taken off the horse’s back and came from behind to pip Fantastic Dubai near post and prevail by more than two lengths to the run of the judge.

All eyes were on Dan Chillingworth, but the mount of Tadhg O’Shea was caught in the straight and dropped back to finish third.

The Results: Race One: 6.35pm Thoroughbreds Maiden Ford Explorer Trophy 1900m (a 9.5f) sponsored by Al Tayer Motors. Purse: Dh50,000. 1. Treachery (Satish Seemar) Richard Mullen 2. Myownway (Doug Watson) Patrick Dobbs 3. Chicago May (Stephane Chevalier) Tadhg O’Shea. Time: 1.58.68 Distances: 1.25L/ 0.5L.

Race Two: 7.15pm Thoroughbreds Handicap Ford Taurus Trophy 1200m (a 6f) sponsored by Al Tayer Motors. Purse: Dh80,000. 1. Green Beret (Ali Rashid Al Raihe) Royston Ffrench 2. My Verse (Dhruba Selvaratnam) William Buick 3. Indian Skipper (Doug Watson) Tadhg O’Shea. Time: 1.10.8 Distances: 1.25L/ 1.75L

Race Three: 7.55pm Thoroughbreds Rated Conditions Ford Mustang Trophy 1400m (a 7f) sponsored by Al Tayer Motors. Purse: Dh110,000. 1. Comradeship (Rashed Bouresly) Erhan Yauvus 2. Musaafer (Musabah Al Muhairi) Tadhg O’Shea 3. Chaperno (Mubarak bin Shafya) Xavier Ziani Time: 1.24.06 Distances: 6.75L/ SHD.

Race Four: 8.35pm Thoroughbreds Handicap Ford Edge Trophy 1600m (a 8f) sponsored by Al Tayer Motors. Purse: Dh65,000. 1. Western Adventure (Satish Seemar) Harry Bentley 2. Fantastic Dubai (Musabah Al Muhairi) Wayne Smith 3. Dan Chillingworth (Doug Watson) Tadhg O’Shea Time: 1.36.8. 7. Distances: 2.25L/ 2.25L.

Race Five: 9.10pm Thoroughbreds Conditions Ford Mustang Trophy 1400m (a 7f) sponsored by Al Tayer Motors. Purse: Dh110,000. 1. Alo Pura (Dhruba Selvaratnam) William Buick 2. Dohasa (Ismail Mohammed) Ted Durcan 3. Force Freeze (Doug Watson) Tadhg O’Shea. Time: 1.10.43 Distances: NK/ 1.25L

More news from