Panel for selection of Arab Journalism Awards finalised

DUBAI — Dubai Press Club, the General Secretariat of the Arab Journalism Award (AJA), has finalised the selection of 60 jury panelists for the 10th edition, comprising prominent personalities from the media from across the
 Arab world.

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Tue 30 Nov 2010, 12:14 AM

Last updated: Mon 6 Apr 2015, 4:13 PM

The new Board of Directors will convene for the first time, since its formation on July 14, to approve the selection of the panelists and to appoint committees for the 12 categories of the awards.

Formed in 2010, the Board of Directors is headed by Khalfan Al Roumi, former Minister for Information and Culture in the UAE. Comprising distinguished Arab media personalities, the Board has been mandated to oversee the awards over the next three years.

Muna Bu Samra, Deputy Manager, Arab Journalism Award, said the selection of the jury panelists follows an exhaustive process. Submissions for the Arab Journalism Awards 2011, which will give away a total cash prize of over US$220,000, opened on October 24 and will close on 29 January. For the first time, online publications are allowed to participate in all categories. Additionally, categories of Journalism for Children, Health Journalism, Environmental Journalism and IT Journalism have been included under a new umbrella category titled ‘Specialised Journalism’.

Media organisations are allowed to nominate the work of their staff members. Journalists are also permitted to nominate themselves directly.

Details on the categories as well as the terms and conditions for Arab Journalism Award 2011 are available on the AJA website.

More news from