Abu Dhabi medical awards presented

ABU DHABI — Shaikh Hazza bin Zayed Al Nahyan, National Security Advisor, and Deputy Chairman of Abu Dhabi Executive Council, on Monday, honoured winners of the 2nd Abu Dhabi Medical Distinction Award (ADMDA).

By (Wam)

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Wed 27 Feb 2013, 12:05 AM

Last updated: Sat 4 Apr 2015, 7:59 AM

The ADMDA organising committee said 107 nominations were received from various public and private health facilities, educational institutes, as well as individual doctors in Abu Dhabi, but only 37 were shortlisted for the ten categories of the award.

Launched in July 2011 by the Health Authority - Abu Dhabi (HAAD), the award aims at acknowledging professionals who have contributed to the improvement and enhancement of the healthcare system, encourage medical and scientific research, honour voluntary work and promote philanthropy. Each year, the award seeks innovations, overachieving performances of healthcare professionals and approaches that characterise these qualities, celebrating our health champions and demonstrating the highest commitment to patient experience and outcomes in Abu Dhabi. — Wam

And the winners are...

  • The Surgical Performance Distinction award was bagged by Dr Abdul Rahman Nawab Al Blooshi, consultant cardiovascular surgeon and chief of surgery in Zayed Military Hospital (ZMH); and Dr Saleh Ahmed Saif Al Messabi, medical director and consultant ophthalmologist, cornea and refractive surgery in Samaya Day Surgery Centre.
  • The Clinical Performance award went to Dr Ashraf Al Zaabi, consultant pulmonary and head of respirology division in ZMH and Dr Asma Al Nuaimi, consultant pediatric pulmonologist and head of pediatric department in ZMH.
  • The Medical Research award was won by Dr Hussein Saadi, consultant endocrinologist and chairman of medical sub-specialties department in Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi; and Professor Fikri Abu-Zidan, head of trauma group and consultant trauma and acute care surgeon in the faculty of medicine & health sciences in the UAE University.
  • The Clinical Laboratory ‘&’ Imaging award was given to Dr Maher Ahmed Al Sayadi, radiologist and chair of medical imaging department in Ambulatory Healthcare Services (AHS), part of the Abu Dhabi Health Services Company (Seha); and Dr Eiman Al Zaabi, consultant and chair of pathology and laboratory department in Al Mafraq Hospital.
  • The Medical Education award was won by Dr Fawaz Fathi 
Al-Aboudi, consultant family physician and assistant director of family medicine residency programme in AHS - Seha; and Dr Nawal Ahmed Al Kaabi; pediatric residency programme director and chief pediatric infectious diseases division in Shaikh Khalifa 
Medical City.
  • The Allied Health award went to Dr Adeline Fouad Saliba, acting pharmacy manager and senior clinical pharmacist in Corniche Hospital; and Dr Hashem Tarifi, chief of pharmacy in Tawam Hospital.
  • The Healthcare Administration ‘&’ Management award was won by Dr Mariam Al Mazrouei, deputy CEO in Corniche Hospital; and Dr Zuhair Afaneh, medical officer in Al-Gharbia Hospitals.
  • The Medical Volunteer award was bagged by Dr Taisser Atrak, chair of pediatrics and chief neonatology - NICU in Al Mafraq Hospital; and Dr Alya Saleh Aidah Al Braiki, specialist ophthalmologist in ZMH.
  • The Public Health ‘&’ Health Promotion award was won by Dr Fatmeh Al Anouti, assistant professor in Zayed University; and Dr Yousif Ismaiel Al Hosani, director of public health in ZMH.
  • The Lifetime Achievement award was given to Dr Abdul Qader Hadi.

More news from