MQM wins two seats in Azad Kashmir polls

KARACHI - The Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM), as expected, comfortably won the two Azad Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly seats, according to the results released late on Wednesday.

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Sat 23 Jul 2011, 12:20 AM

Last updated: Tue 23 May 2023, 2:56 PM

The polls for LA-30 (Jammu) and LA-36 (Kashmir Valley-1) seats were held in Sindh, Balochistan and Punjab provinces and the voting turnout was reported to be around 76 per cent.

The MQM candidate Mohammed Tahir Khokhar bagged 30,326 votes, while Abdul Rashid Mirza of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz got 18,301 votes in LA-30 seat.

There are 68,580 registered voters in LA-30, which comprises of around 43 districts of the country. Of these, 29,861 voters are in Karachi, 2,497 in other districts of Sindh, 31,738 in Punjab, and 4,484 in Balochistan. Twelve candidates were in the run for LA-30, while 11 contested the election for LA-36.

In LA-36, out of the 6,199 registered votes, MQM’s Mohammed Saleem Butt got 4,633 votes.

However, the PML-N rejected the results and alleged massive rigging by the government functionaries who it said openly favoured the MQM and even ejected the PML-N agents from most of the polling stations in Karachi.

MQM’s victory was assured after the AJK Muslim Conference and the PPP announced to withdraw their candidates in its favour after parleys between the top leaderships of the parties.

More news from WORLD