Congress seeks disqualification of 9 legislators

HYDERABAD — The ruling Congress in Andhra Pradesh sought to put up a brave front despite the continuing defections from the party on Saturday when it sought disqualification procedures against nine of its lawmakers who had voted in favour of the no-confidence motion tabled last week by the Telangana Rashtra Samithi against the N. Kiran Kumar Reddy government.

By P.s. Jayaram

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Sun 24 Mar 2013, 9:07 PM

Last updated: Tue 7 Apr 2015, 4:11 PM

Government Chief Whip Gandra Venkataramana Reddy called on Speaker Nadendla Manohar and submitted a petition on behalf of the Congress Legislature Party seeking disqualification of the legislators who have been openly supporting the YSR Congress headed by jailed Kadapa MP Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy.

The decision to submit the petition was taken after the chief minister, state Congress Committee president Botsa Satyanarayana and Venkataramana Reddy held discussions. The MLAs whose disqualification has been sought are: Alla Nani (Eluru), G Ravi Kumar (Addanki), D. Chandrasekara Reddy (Kakinada), Jogi Ramesh (Pedana), Perni Nani (Machilipatnam), B. Sivaprasada Reddy (Darsi), M. Rajesh (Chintalapudi), S. Krishna Ranga Rao (Bobbili) and P. Ramchandra Reddy (Punganur).

More news from