Air Arabia announces repatriation, cargo flights to 9 countries

covid-19, combating, coronavirus, Sharjah-based, Air Arabia, repatriate, passengers, India,

Sharjah - Air Arabia reminds all passengers that gloves, and face masks must be worn in order to guarantee boarding.

By Waheed Abbas

Published: Thu 16 Apr 2020, 3:48 PM

Last updated: Thu 16 Apr 2020, 9:16 PM

Sharjah's budget carrier Air Arabia on Wednesday announced new passenger repatriation as well as cargo flights to nine countries from Sharjah International Airport.

The airline will operate a mix of outbound-only passenger flights as well as cargo flights during the month of April to Afghanistan, Iran, Oman, Kuwait, Bahrain, Sudan, Egypt, India and Nepal.

However, the airline will be operating only cargo flights to India as New Delhi on Tuesday announced suspension of all domestic and international commercial passenger operations till 11.59pm on May 3.

"Air Arabia is operating repatriation flights to limited destinations to carry outbound passengers from the UAE to their home countries. Current available flights during the month of April are operating from Sharjah International Airport to Lar, Shiraz and Kabul. More destinations will be added once the necessary approvals are obtained," it said on its website.

"Air Arabia is committed to support requests to operate repatriation and cargo flights and remain working closely with UAE authorities in this regard."

It advised passengers to check travel and entry restrictions applicable at their home country before travel and wear gloves and face masks to guarantee boarding.

The budget carrier is also operating cargo flights to Oman, Kuwait, Bahrain, Egypt, India and Nepal.

Earlier, it had announced cancellation of most its flights till May 15 after the UAE authorities imposed restrictions on international travels.

Flydubai had earlier opened booking for special flights to repatriate stranded passengers in the UAE. It opened booking to Bulgaria, Croatia, Georgia, Iraq, Iran, Kyrgyzstan, Romania, Serbia, Tajikistan and Ukraine.

More news from