Dubai travel: Emirates suspends flights from 3 destinations until further notice

Outbound passenger operations from Dubai remain unaffected.

By Web Desk

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Top Stories

Photo: AP
Photo: AP

Published: Wed 22 Dec 2021, 9:02 AM

Last updated: Sat 25 Dec 2021, 2:40 PM

Dubai's Emirates airline has announced the suspension of all inbound services from Kenya, Ethiopia and Tanzania until further notice, starting from December 26.

A statement issued on the carrier's website said:

Customers originating from the following destinations will not be accepted for travel to or through Dubai with effect from December 26, 2021 until further notice.

- Nairobi (Kenya)

- Addis Ababa (Ethiopia)

- Dar es salaam (Tanzania)

Outbound passenger operations from Dubai to these destinations remain unaffected, the statement added.

On Thursday, The National Emergency Crisis and Disasters Emergency Management Authority (NCEMA) and the General Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA) had announced the suspension of all inbound flights for national and international carriers and transit passengers from Kenya, Tanzania, Ethiopia, and Nigeria from Saturday, December 25, effective 7.30am.

Earlier this week, the airline had announced a temporary suspension for 48 hours starting from December 20, which had been extended until December 24.

A statement issued on the airline's website had said that as per directives from the Dubai Civil Aviation Authority (DCAA), all air transport services from Kenya will be temporarily suspended up to and including December 24.

Affected customers do not need to call the airline immediately for rebooking.


Passengers can hold on to their Emirates ticket and when flights resume, they can get in touch with their travel agent or booking office to make new travel plans.

These include having a negative Covid-19 test obtained within 48 hours and a Rapid-PCR test at the airport within six hours of the departure.

More news from