Praveen Kumar picked by Punjabi Legends

Praveen Kumar picked by Punjabi Legends
Zaheer Khan (left) and Praveen Kumar are set to light up the T10 League.

Sharjah Cricket Stadium to host T10 from November 21 to December 2

Published: Mon 5 Nov 2018, 8:41 PM

Last updated: Mon 5 Nov 2018, 10:47 PM

Bengal Tigers picked up Zaheer Khan while Punjabi Legends opted for Praveen Kumar at a draw amongst eight Indian cricketers to play in the T10 League that takes place at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium from November 21 to December 2.
Zaheer, who took 311 wickets in Test cricket, 282 wickets in one-day internationals and 17 T20 wickets in a career spanning 14 years, leads the pack of Indian cricketers to join the Second Season of the T10 League that will help the 12-day event to attract a larger crowd to the T10 League.
Praveen Kumar, who had everything to become a domestic cricket legend with limited pace but ability to swing the ball both ways, persistence to bowl long spells, and an almost intuitive knowledge of how to take wickets on unresponsive wickets, will play at the T10 League this time to enthral the crowd with his cricketing prowess.
Shaji Ul Mulk, chairman of T10 League, said, "The inclusion of some of the most prominent Indian cricketers in the T10 League, will help us to popularise the ten-over format cricket that concludes in 90 minutes.
"The forthcoming T10 League will demonstrate the games growing popularity and I am happy to see the way things are progressing so far. From a four-day event, the T10 League will now run for 12 days that will attract a larger audience at the stadium and beyond through the television channels."
T10 League, the world's first 10-over international professional cricket league that is licensed by Emirates Cricket Board (ECB), has recently appointed Sony Pictures Networks as its broadcast partners for South Asia, Middle East and North Africa for three years.
The T10 League matches will be telecast live through Sony ESPN and Sony ESPN HD in India, Ten Sports in Pakistan, Ten Cricket in Middle East and North Africa. It will also be streamed on SonyLIV.
The 2018 edition scheduled to start from November 21 and spread over 12 days, will have 29 matches as compared to a 4-day event in 2017. To meet this new challenge and also to keep the event clean, the T10 League management has made many positive changes to bolster the execution and operations of the 2018 T10 League tournament.
Eight teams - Kerala Kings, Punjab Legends, Maratha Arabians, Bengal Tigers, The Karachians, Rajputs, Northern Warriors and Pakhtoons - have been drawn in to two groups to fight it out in the 2nd Season of T10 League - that takes place at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium from November 23 to December 2.

More news from Sports