Kerala Kings become first ever champions of T10 League

Published: Tue 19 Dec 2017, 1:25 AM

Captain Eoin Morgan led from the front as Kerala Kings bested Punjabi Legends to become the first ever champions of the brand new T10 League.
Morgan, the England limited-overs captain, aced the chase of 121 with a sparkling 63 from 21 balls, studded with half a dozen sixes and five boundaries and was assisted by Irishman Paul Stirling, who remained unbeaten on 52 from 23 deliveries, with five sixes and three boundaries.
Their scintillating knocks made the target look too little as the Kerala Kings romped home with eight wickets still in hand and with 12 balls to spare.
After the flurry of shots that flew off the bat, the ending was an anti-climax Dawlat Zadran bowling a wide with one needed from 12 deliveries.
Earlier, Luke Ronchi and the Punjabi Legends thought they had done enough by piling up a stiff 120 for 3.
Ronchi followed up his unbeaten 60 in the semifinal, with 70, the highest individual score of the League. He also became the highest run-getter in the League with 197 runs from five innings.
But that was to be of little consolation as the Morgan-Stirling show took over.

By James Jose

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

More news from