England chief Giles dismisses final 'extra run' row

England chief Giles dismisses final extra run row
Ben Stokes desperately dived to complete a second run when Martin Guptill's throw from the deep hit his bat and went to the boundary, prompting the umpire to signal six runs (AFP)

Sydney - England beat New Zealand on boundaries after a tied Super Over



By Reuters/AFP

Published: Mon 15 Jul 2019, 11:25 PM

Last updated: Tue 16 Jul 2019, 1:29 AM

England director of cricket Ashley Giles has insisted he had no qualms about keeping the World Cup trophy after former umpire Simon Taufel said the hosts were mistakenly awarded an extra run during their final win over New Zealand.
England beat New Zealand on boundaries after a tied Super Over. But Australian Taufel suggested that the umpires had made an "error of judgement."
With England needing nine runs from the last three balls of the final over, Stokes desperately dived to complete a second run when Martin Guptill's throw from the deep hit his bat and went to the boundary, prompting the umpire to signal six runs.
"It's a clear mistake. It's an error of judgment. (England) should have been awarded five runs, not six," Taufel said.
MCC's law 19.8, which deals with overthrows, says: "If the boundary results from an overthrow... runs scored shall be any runs for penalties awarded... and allowance for the boundary, and runs completed by batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act."
Giles, asked if he was concerned, said Monday: "Not really."
The former England spinner added: "You could argue the last ball that (Trent) Boult bowled was a full toss on leg stump and if Stokes hadn't just been looking for two, he probably would've banged it out of the ground anyway.
"We are world champions; we have got the trophy and we intend to keep it." 
 


More news from Sports