Dubai hosts AGL Awards for first time

Top Stories

Dubai hosts AGL Awards for first time
Al Wahda's Argentine striker Sebastian Tagliabue has been nominated for the Golden Ball for Best Foreign Player at the AGL Awards. - Supplied photo

Dubai - The ceremony, at Madinat Jumeirah on Friday night, will see players and coaches being honoured in various categories

By James Jose

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Thu 16 May 2019, 9:00 PM

Last updated: Thu 16 May 2019, 11:09 PM

Another thrilling domestic football season is at its embers and quite fittingly, the stars who shone through the year, will be rewarded at the Arabian Gulf League Awards on Friday night.
The Awards, instituted in the 2012-13 season, sees players - Emirati as well as foreign - and coaches being honoured for their accomplishments.
This is the seventh edition and it will be the first time it will be held in Dubai, with the ceremony taking place at the Joharah Ballroom at Madinat Jumeirah.
And it sees some regular names as well as some new in the seven categories - Best Emirati Player, Best Foreign Player, Best Coach, Best Young Player, Best Goalkeeper, Fans' Player of the Year and Goal of the Year.
Al Jazira frontman Ali Mabkhout will be eyeing a second Best Emirate Player award after having won it in 2017. The 28-year-old goal poacher, who has scored 19 goals so far, the most by any Emirati this season, is one of the nominees for the Golden Ball Award for Best Emirati Player along with club mate Khalfan Mubarak and Shabab Al Ahli's Ahmed Khalil. Mabkhout also eight assists.
The 24-year-old Khalfan Mubarak is 14th on the leading goalscorers' list with 11 and has the most assists with 12 to his name. Meanwhile, Khalil has nine goals and four assists.
Meanwhile, the nominees for the Golden Ball for Best Foreign Player has Al Wahda's Sebastian Tagliabue and Sharjah teammates Igor Coronado and Welliton Soares.
Tagliabue, who has won the award previously, leads the goalscorers's chart with 26 goals, while Welliton has 19. Coronado is not far behind with 17, off which eight came from penalties. The Brazilian also has nine assists.
The shortlist for the Best Coach are Sharjah's title-winning manager Abdulaziz Al Anbari, Rodolfo Arruabarrena, who led Al Wasl to the Arabian Gulf Cup and the President's Cup, as well as Ajman's Ayman El Ramadi.
Golden Ball Award for Best Emirati Player:
Ali Mabkhout, Khalfan Mubarak (Al Jazira), Ahmed Khalil (Shabab Al Ahli)
Golden Ball for Best Foreign Player:
Igor Coronado, Welliton Soares (Sharjah), Sebastian Tagliabue (Al Wahda)
The Leader Award for Best Coach:
Abdulaziz Al Anbari (Sharjah), Rodolfo Arruabarrena (Shabab Al Ahli), Ayman El Ramadi (Ajman)
The Golden Boy Award for Best Young Player:
Ali Saleh (Al Wasl), Khalifa Al Hammadi (Al Jazira), Mohammed Khalfan (Al Ain)
Golden Glove Award for Best Goalkeeper:
Khaled Eisa (Al Ain), Mohammed Al Shamsi (Al Wahda), Adel Al Hosani (Sharjah)
Fans' Player of the Year:
Khaled Eisa (Al Ain), Driss Fettouhi (Dibba), Igor Coronado (Sharjah)
Goal of the Year:
Khamis Ismail (Al Wasl), Michael Ortega (Bani Yas), Tsukasa Shiotani (Al Ain)

More news from