Daredevils eliminate champions Mumbai

Daredevils eliminate champions Mumbai
Delhi Daredevils cricketer Amit Mishra celebrates the wicket of Mumbai Indians' Hardik Pandya.

New Delhi - Mumbai finished with 12 points, losing eight matches, while Delhi ended up last with 10 points from five victories.


Published: Sun 20 May 2018, 8:07 PM

Last updated: Sun 20 May 2018, 10:12 PM

Delhi Daredevils ended defending champion Mumbai Indians' IPL hopes with an 11-run victory in their final league match on Sunday. 
Mumbai needed a win to have a chance of finishing among the top four of the Indian Premier League, but leg-spinners Amit Mishra and 17-year-old Sandeep Lamichhane of Nepal grabbed three wickets each to dismiss Mumbai for 163 in 19.3 overs.
Delhi, who won the toss and chose to bat, scored 174-4 with Rishabh Pant smashing 64 off 44 balls and Vijay Shankar lifting the total with an unbeaten 43 off 30.
"It's disappointing not to qualify, hats off to Delhi, they played very good cricket and bowled at the right areas," Mumbai captain Rohit Sharma said. "We played bad cricket, we were not there today."
Mumbai finished with 12 points, losing eight matches, while Delhi ended up last with 10 points from five victories. Lamichhane (3-36) hurt Mumbai early when Suryakumar Yadav couldn't read the googly and got the leading edge all the way to long-on in the leg-spinner's first over.
Evin Lewis, who was dropped on eight at covers by Shankar, went on to smash three fours and four sixes in his 48 off 31 before Mishra (3-19) struck in his first two overs.
Ishan Kishan (5) holed out at long-on to Shankar, and Lewis misread Mishra's googly and was stumped by Pant.
Glenn Maxwell then brought up two sensational relay catches close to the long-on boundary to result in the dismissals of Kieron Pollard (7) and Rohit (13) as Mumbai stuttered at 122-7 in the 15th over.
Australia's Ben Cutting gave Mumbai a glimmer of hope with a quickfire 37 off 20 before falling to seamer Harshal Patel (3-28) in the last over.
Earlier, Pant and Shankar steadied Delhi's innings in the middle overs with a 64-run fourth-wicket stand. Left-arm spinner Krunal Pandya broke the stand in the 17th over when Pant was caught at long-on after hitting four fours and four sixes.
But Shankar and Abhishek Sharma (15 not out) added 35 off the last 19 balls as Delhi got enough runs on board to end Mumbai's run in the tournament.

Mishra magic
Delhi Daredevils
P Shaw run out (Pandya) 12
G Maxwell b Bumrah 22
S Iyer c Krunal b Markande 6
R Pant c Pollard b Krunal 64
V Shankar not out 43
A Sharma not out 15
Extras: (b 1, lb 6, w 5) 12
Total:(4 wkts, 20 Overs) 174
Did not bat: HV Patel, A Mishra, S Lamichhane, TA Boult, LE Plunkett
Fall: 1-30, 2-38, 3-75, 4-139
Bowling: Krunal Pandya 2-0-11-1; J Bumrah 4-0-29-1; H Pandya 4-0-36-0; M Rahman 4-0-34-0; M Markande 2-0-21-1; B Cutting 4-0-36-0
Mumbai Indians
S Yadav c Shankar b Lamichhane 12
E Lewis st Pant b Mishra 48
I Kishan c Shankar b Mishra 5
K Pollard c Boult b Lamichhane 7
R Sharma c Boult b Patel 13
K Pandya c sub (Tewatia) b Lamichhane 4
H Pandya c sub (Tewatia) b Mishra 27
B Cutting c Maxwell b Patel 37
M Markande b Boult 3
J Bumrah c Boult b Patel 0
M Rahman not out 0
Extras: (lb 1, w 6) 7
Total: (All out,19.3 Overs) 163
Fall: 1-12, 2-57, 3-74, 4-74, 5-78, 6-121, 7-122, 8-157, 9-163, 10-163
Bowling: S Lamichhane 4-0-36-3; T Boult 4-0-33-1; G Maxwell 2-0-19-0; H Patel 2.3-0-28-3; L Plunkett 3-0-27-0; A Mishra 4-0-19-3

More news from Sports