Alubond Tigers win Sharjah T20 Bash title

Alubond Tigers win Sharjah T20 Bash title
Alubond Tigers with the trophy.

Sharjah - Bowlers star in win over One Stop Tourism

By KT Report

Published: Tue 23 Jan 2018, 9:08 PM

Last updated: Tue 23 Jan 2018, 11:10 PM

A dazzling bowling performance on a chilly night at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium ensured Alubond Tigers emerged the champions of the inaugural Sharjah T20 Bash 2017-18 organised by the Sharjah Cricket Club.

The first five overs of the final more or less determined the match where One Stop Tourism saw a top order collapse thanks to great spells from Shareef Asadullah and Asif Mumtaz as Alubond Tigers comfortably won by seven wickets. After turning lucky with the coin, skipper Rohan Mustafa was quick to opt to bat. But the decision backfired terribly as they lost quick wickets starting from the third ball of the innings.

Hafiz Kaleem was the first to go even before opening the account after he was bowled by Asadullah. Mustafa (1) followed him immediately after he was trapped in front by Asif Mumtaz. Shareef Asadullah returned the next over and struck twice before claiming another in his third over. Tottering at 13 for five, One Stop Tourism were staring at a humiliating total. But Adil Mirza started the recovery process with a steady 15 before Umair Ali Khan and Ayoub Inayat shared a crucial 46-run stand for the eighth wicket that ensured One Stop Tourism just managed to enter the three-digit mark.

While Umair Ali Khan powered to a 17-ball 31 including a boundary and three sixes, Ayoub Inayat smashed 27 from 14 deliveries supported by three boundaries and two sixes as One Stop Tourism achieved 104 all out in 18.3 overs.

Asadullah easily was the pick of the bowlers scalping four wickets in his four overs and leaking only 13 runs, while Fayyaz Ahmed picked four in his three overs. Nasir Aziz claimed two.

Chasing a modest target, Alubond Tigers got off to a rousing start with the openers scoring a quick 30 runs in just four overs, including three boundaries from Faizan Asif off Umair Ali Khan in the second over. Faizan Asif eventually succumbed after scoring 17 from 10 deliveries supported by four boundaries while Abdul Shakoor Sher hit a 40-ball 35 studded with four hits to the fence and one over it.

Mohammad Qasim remained unbeaten on 39 coming off 34 balls with the help of three fours and two sixes as Alubond Tigers got past the target in 16.1 overs.

Emirates Cricket Board's chief selector Waleed Bukhatir during the presentation ceremony congratulated the Sharjah Cricket Club for hosting another successful club and said: "We need to keep conducting more such tournaments that will help our cricketers to showcase their skills on a regular basis.

"I congratulate Alubond Tigers on their victory and wish them all the success in the future tournaments," he added.

More news from