Al Ain's Omar could end up with four AGL awards

Top Stories

Al Ains Omar could end up with four AGL awards
Omar has been impressive this season with 14 assists and three goals in the Arabian Gulf League.

Dubai - Mabkhout, Olaroiu and Dalic also in the running for glory

By James Jose

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Thu 12 May 2016, 9:31 PM

Last updated: Thu 12 May 2016, 11:34 PM

dubai - Counting down to the fourth Arabian Gulf League Awards to be held at the opulent Emirates Palace in Abu Dhabi on Saturday night, a number of candidates are in line to take their second, third or possibly a fourth since the awards were instituted in the 2012-13 season.

Al Ain playmaker Omar Abdulrahman, known as the 'Arabian Messi,'  could make it four in total if he wins in both the categories he has been nominated. 'Amoory' had won the Emirati Player of the Year as well the Fans' Player of the Year in the inaugural edition in 2012-13, and finds himself as one of the three nominees for the Emirati Player of the Year and the Fans' Player of the Year.

Omar, who was plagued by injuries last in the previous season which saw him play a peripheral role, has been impressive this season with 14 assists and three goals in the Arabian Gulf League. But the frizzy-haired ace faces tough competition from his UAE teammate and Al Jazira frontman Ali Ahmed Mabkhout in the Emirati Player of the Year segment. Mabkhout, winner of the Golden Boot at the AFC Asian Cup, is gunning for a second Emirati Player of the Year award after clinching it in the 2014-15 season. Mabkhout is the leading scorer among the Emiratis with 23 goals and is second behind Al Wahda's Sebastian Tagliabue in the top goalscorers' list.

Al Ahli's defensive midfielder Majed Hassan is the third nominee.
Al Ahli's Cosmin Olaroiu and Al Ain's Zlatko Dalic could also end up with a double. The Romanian Olaroiu, who guided the Red Knights to their seventh title in the UAE top flight, had won the Coach of the Year award in the 2013-14 season. Croatian  Dalic had clinched the award last season. Mexican Javier Aguirre, who guided Al Wahda to a third-place finish in the League this season, has also been nominated.

Al Ain's goalkeeper Khalid Eisa too could land a second after winning the Goalkeeper of the Year award last season. Eisa had eight clean sheets this season, while Al Ahli's Majed Naser has nine clean sheets. The other contender Ahmad Shambih of Al Nasr has two clean sheets.

Top goalscorer Sebastian Tagliabue could end up with the Foreign Player of the Year after bludgeoning 25 goals from 26 fitxures but he faces competition from Al Ahli's Everton Ribeiro, who has nine goals and 10 assists. Al Wasl's Fabio de Lima is the other candidate.

The Under-21 Player of the Year tussle is between Al Wahda's Mohamed Alakberi, Al Ain's Ahmed Barman and Emirates Waleed Ambar, who was recently called up to the UAE squad by coach Mahdi Ali.
Other categories on the night include Best XI, Arabian Gulf League Top Scorer, U21 League Top Scorer, Professional Club of the Year, Fans' Player of the Year and Fantasy Football Manager of the Year.
Omar's teammate Fellipe Bastos and Al Dhafra's Omar Khrbin are the other contenders for the Fans' Player of the Year award. After the Awards ceremony, the Pro League Committee will host the 2016-17 Season Draw for the Arabian Gulf Cup and the Arabian Gulf League. -

More news from