IPL 2020: Iyer, Pant help Delhi Capitals post 156

James Jose/Dubai
Filed on November 10, 2020
Delhi Capitals captain Shreyas Iyer (right) and Rishabh Pant run between the wickets during the IPL final against the Mumbai Indians in Dubai on Tuesday. — BCCI/IPL

Both score fifties, while Trent Boult picks three wickets for the Mumbai Indians

Captain Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant came up with a fine rearguard as the Delhi Capitals posted a decent total against defending champions the Mumbai Indians in the IPL final in Dubai on Tuesday night.

Iyer and Pant pulled the Delhi Capitals from a deep hole with half centuries as they put up 156 for 7 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

The Delhi Capitals, making their maiden appearance in the final, were in serious trouble after opting to bat, with their top order gone for 22.

New Zealand left-arm pacer Trent Boult, who had them down in the dumps in Qualifier 1, repeated that by polishing opener Marcus Stoinis with a peach of a delivery before accounting for Ajinkya Rahane.

And with opener Shikhar Dhawan castled by off-spinner Jayant Yadav, the Delhi Capitals were left tottering at 22 for three.

But Iyer and Pant joined forces to see off the challenge before playing fearless cricket. The pair put their head down and stitched together 96 runs for the third wicket.

Iyer scored an unbeaten 65 from 50 deliveries with six boundaries and two sixes, his third half-century of the season and 16th of his IPL career. In the process, Iyer completed 500 runs this season.

Pant, meanwhile, came up with a 38-ball 56 with four fours and two sixes, his first fifty of the season and 12th overall.

Boult finished up with three for 30, while Nathan Coulter-Nile took two for 29.

Brief scores:

Delhi Capitals: 156-7 in 20 overs (Rishabh Pant 56, Shreyas Iyer 65 not out, Trent Boult 3-30, Nathan Coulter-Nile 2-29) vs Mumbai Indians.


Delhi Capitals: Shikhar Dhawan, Marcus Stoinis, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer (C), Shimron Hetmyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Axar Patel, Praveen Dubey, Kagiso Rabada, R Ashwin, Anrich Nortje.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (C), Quinton de Kock (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jayant Yadav, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah.

ERROR: Macro /ads/dfp-ad-article-new is missing!
MORE FROM Khaleej Times
CurrentRequestUnmodified: /sport/cricket/kohli-best-batsman-in-world-cricket-currently-believes-sangakkara macro_action: article, macro_profile: , macro_adspot:
KT App Download
khaleejtimes app

All new KT app
is available
for download:

khaleejtimes - android khaleejtimes - ios khaleejtimes - HUAWEI AppGallery