Rizwan shines for Pakistan in T20 victory over Zimbabwe

Filed on April 21, 2021
Pakistan's Mohammad Rizwan runs between the wickets as Zimbabwe's wicketkeeper Regis Chakabva fields during the first Twenty20 international. — AFP

Rizwan played a lone hand for his team with 82 not out as they posted 149 for seven in their 20 overs

Mohammad Rizwan hit a fighting 82 while leg-spinner Usman Qadir grabbed three wickets as Pakistan edged out Zimbabwe by 11 runs in the first Twenty20 international in Harare on Wednesday.

Pakistan managed 149-7 in their 20 overs with their in-form wicketkeeper batsman Rizwan anchoring the innings after they were sent in to bat.

Zimbabwe looked threatening at 77-2 in the tenth over but Qadir (3-29) and pacer Mohammad Hasnain (2-27) kept them to 138-7 in the allotted 20 overs.

Zimbabwe needed 20 off the last over but fast bowler Haris Rauf kept tight length to concede just eight to pull off a hard earned win, helping Pakistan to 1-0 lead in the three-match series.

The second and third match will also be played in Harare on Friday and Sunday.

Luke Jongwe top-scored with a 23-ball 30 not out which included three boundaries and a six while opener Tinashe Kamunhukamwe scored 29.

Pakistan started the innings on the wrong foot when their world famous batsman Babar Azam fell in the second over, playing a casual shot into the hands of cover fielder for just two.

Rizwan added two solid stands of 34 each with Fakhar Zaman (13) and debutant Danish Aziz (15) but senior batsman Mohammad Hafeez (five) and Haider Ali (five) failed.

Zimbabwe could have had more wickets had they not dropped four catches, the most costly was of Rizwan when on just 13.

Rizwan, who cracked ten boundaries and a six off 61 balls, smashed 20 off the final Richard Ngarava over to take Pakistan to a fighting total.

Part-tim spinner Wesley Madhevere (2-11) and seamer Jongwe (2-24) were Zimbabwe's successful bowlers.



Mohammad Rizwan not out 82

Babar Azam c Burl b Muzarabani 2

Fakhar Zaman b Madhevere 13

Mohammad Hafeez c Ngarava b Madhevere 5

Danish Aziz c Ngarava b Jongwe 15

Haider Ali b Jongwe 5

Faheem Ashraf run out 1

Mohammad Nawaz c Chakabva b Ngarava 9

Usman Qadir not out 2

Extras: (b2, w13) 15

Total: (Overs 20; for seven wkts) 149

Did not bat: Mohammad Hasnain, Haris Rauf

Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Azam), 2-42 (Zaman), 3-55 (Hafeez), 4-89 (Aziz), 5-98 (Ali), 6-100 (Ashraf), 7-124 (Nawaz)

Bowling: Masakadza 3-0-20-0 (1w), Muzarabani 4-0-22-1 (1w), Ngarava 4-0-48-1 (8w), Jongwe 3-0-24-2 (2w), Madhevere 2-0-11-2, Burl 3-0-15-0 (1w), Williams 1-0-7-0


T. Kamunhukamwe st Rizwan b Hafeez 29

W. Madhevere c Azam b Hasnain 14

T. Marumani c Azam b Hasnain 0

C. Ervine c Nawaz b Qadir 34

R. Burl b Rauf 14

S. Williams c Zaman b Qadir 9

R. Chakabva lbw b Qadir 3

L. Jongwe not out 30

W. Masakadza not out 2

Extras: (b1, w2) 3

Total: (Overs 20, for seven wkts) 138

Did not bat: B. Muzarabani, R. Ngarava

Fall of wickets: 1-21 (Madhevere), 2-21 (Marumani), 3-77 (Kamunhukamwe), 4-79 (Ervine), 5-91 (Williams), 6-95 (Chakabva), 7-122 (Burl)

Bowling: Hasnain 4-0-27-2 (1w), Ashraf 2-0-16-0, Nawaz 2-0-15-0, Rauf 4-0-29-1 (1w), Qadir 4-0-29-3, Hafeez 4-0-21-1

Result: Pakistan won by 11 runs

Toss: Zimbabwe

Umpires: Iknow Chabi (ZIM) and Langton Rusere (ZIM)

TV umpire: Christopher Phiri (ZIM)

Match Referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

ERROR: Macro /ads/dfp-ad-article-new is missing!
MORE FROM Khaleej Times
CurrentRequestUnmodified: /sport/cricket/rajasthan-royals-owner-badale-ipls-new-schedule-a-big-challenge-amid-covid-19-scare macro_action: article, macro_profile: ,1051,1049 macro_adspot:
KT App Download
khaleejtimes app

All new KT app
is available
for download:

khaleejtimes - android khaleejtimes - ios khaleejtimes - HUAWEI AppGallery