Pakistan beat West Indies by seven runs in second T20

Filed on July 31, 2021
Akeal Hosein (left) of the West Indies attempts to stop Babar Azam (right) of Pakistan from scoring during the 3rd T20I match at Guyana National Stadium in Providence, Guyana. — AFP

Man-of-the-match Mohammad Hafeez gave away only six runs in his four overs and took one wicket

Nicholas Pooran's unbeaten 62 off 33 deliveries went in vain as Pakistan held on to win the second T20 International by seven runs here on Saturday. The win gave Pakistan 1-0 lead in the five-match series after the first game produced no result.

Pakistan made 157/8 in 20 overs and restricted West Indies to 150/4.

With West Indies needing 74 off 30 balls, it seemed like Pakistan had the upper hand. However, Pooran hammered six sixes and four fours to bring the equation down to 20 off the last over over.

Kieron Pollard got a double and then was dismissed off the second ball. With 18 off four, pacer Shaheen Shah Afridi produced two dot balls to take the game away from West Indies.

Mohammed Hafeez, who opened the bowling took 1/6 in four overs, to deny West Indies a flying start in the powerplay.

Earlier, West Indies fast bowler Jason Holder had captured four wickets to restrict Pakistan to 157 for eight wickets.

For Pakistan, captain Babar Azam top scored with 51 off 40 balls while Mohammad Rizwan smashed 46 off 36 balls.

West Indies captain Kieron Pollard won the toss and opted to bowl.

Openers Rizwan (2x4s, 2x6s) and Sharjeel Khan (20) put on 46 for the first wicket. Then, Rizwan and Azam added 67 for the second wicket to add strength to the innings.

Then there was a middle order collapse when Dwayne Bravo dismissed veteran Mohammad Hafeez (6) and Fakhar Zaman (15) off successive deliveries to wrest the initiative. In the very next over, Holder dismissed Hasan Ali and Sohaib Maqsood off consecutive balls to take control as the tail failed to contribute.

Holder finished with four wickets for 26 runs in four overs while Bravo bagged two for 24 in four overs.

The first T20 had ended in a 'no result' after the rains disrupted the first innings, and the match could not be resumed after that.



Sharjeel Khan c Hosein b Holder 20

Mohammad Rizwan run out 46

Babar Azam c Pooran b Holder 51

Fakhar Zaman c Walsh b Bravo 15

Mohammad Hafeez c Walsh b Bravo 6

Hasan Ali c Bravo b Holder 0

Sohaib Maqsood c Shepherd b Holder 5

Shadab Khan run out 5

Mohammad Wasim not out 1

Extras (b1, lb2, w4, nb1) 8

Total (20 overs, 8 wkts) 157

Did not bat: Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Qadir

Fall of wickets: 1-46 (Sharjeel Khan), 2-113 (Mohammad Rizwan), 3-134 (Babar Azam), 4-145 (Mohammad Hafeez), 5-145 (Fakhar Zaman), 6-150 (Hasan Ali), 7-150 (Sohaib Maqsood), 8-157 (Shadab Khan)

Bowling: A. Hosein 4-0-3-0 (1nb), J. Holder 4-0-26-4. C. Gayle 1-0-11-0 (3w), D. Bravo 4-0-24-2, R. Shepherd 3-0-38-0 (1w), H. Walsh 4-0-25-0

West Indies

A. Fletcher b Mohammad Hafeez 0

E. Lewis retired hurt 35

C. Gayle b Hasan Ali 16

S. Hetmyer b Mohammad Wasim 17

N. Pooran not out 62

K. Pollard c Mohammad Wasim b Shaheen Shah Afridi 13

J. Holder not out 0

Extras (lb3, w4) 7

Total (20 overs, 4 wkts) 150

Did not bat: D. Bravo, R. Shepherd, H. Walsh, A. Hosein

Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Fletcher), 2-31 (Gayle), 3-70 (Hetmyer), 4-140 (Pollard)

Bowling: Mohammad Hafeez 4-1-6-1, Shaheen Shah Afridi 4-0-44-1 (1w), Hasan Ali 4-0-32-1, Shadab Khan 4-0-22-0 (1w), Usman Qadir 1-0-11-0 (1w), Mohammad Wasim 3-0-32-1 (1w)

Result: Pakistan won by 7 runs

Toss: West Indies

Umpires: Leslie Reifer (WIS), Patrick Gustard (WIS)

Match Referee: Richie Richardson (WIS)

ERROR: Macro /ads/dfp-ad-article-new is missing!
MORE FROM Khaleej Times
CurrentRequestUnmodified: /sport/cricket/pakistan-beat-west-indies-by-seven-runs-in-second-t20 macro_action: article, macro_profile: ,1051,1049 macro_adspot:
KT App Download
khaleejtimes app

All new KT app
is available
for download:

khaleejtimes - android khaleejtimes - ios khaleejtimes - HUAWEI AppGallery