Maratha Arabians face Northern Warriors in Abu Dhabi T10 opening match

Team KT/Dubai
Filed on January 14, 2021
Maratha Arabians won the 2019 T10 tournament. (KT file)

The eight-team T0 tournament will kick off on January 28 and the final will be played on February 6

Defending champions Maratha Arabians will take on 2018 winners Northern Warriors in the opening match of the 2021 Abu Dhabi T10, organisers of the star-studded tournament announced on Thursday.

The eight-team T0 tournament will kick off on January 28 and the final will be played on February 6. The majestic Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi will host all the matches.

“Abu Dhabi T10 is the fastest action packed format and the future of cricket. I am pleased to announce the exciting season four tournament schedule,” said Shaji Ul-Mulk, Chairman – Ten Sports Management.

“We have the world’s best cricketers on show – from West Indian superstars Chris Gayle and Dwayne ‘DJ’ Bravo to Shoaib Malik – who all attest to its appeal and to how cricket is quickly evolving.”

The eight teams have been divided into two groups. The teams will play three matches each in the group stage before heading into the Super League on February 1.

A total of 12 matches in the group stage, followed by 12 more in the Super League, will give way to the playoffs from February 5.

The top two ranked teams will take on each other in the Qualifier for a place in the final, while the third and fourth-ranked teams will be up against each other in Eliminator 1 on February 5.

Thereafter the runners-up in the Qualifier will play against the winners of Eliminator 1 in Eliminator 2 for a place in the final on the same day.

The third-place match and the final will be held on February 6.

The Maratha Arabians, Bangla Tigers, Delhi Bulls and Northern Warriors will battle it out in Group A, while last season’s finalists Deccan Gladiators will be up against Qalandars, Team Abu Dhabi and Pune Devils in Group B.

Group stage schedule:

Day One

Maratha vs Northern Warriors

Pune Devils vs Deccan Gladiators

Delhi Bulls vs Bangla Tigers


Pune Devils vs Qalandars

Maratha Arabians vs Delhi Bulls

Deccan Gladiators vs Team Abu Dhabi


Bangla Tigers vs Maratha Arabians

Team Abu Dhabi vs Qalandars

Northern Warriors vs Delhi Bulls


Team Abu Dhabi vs Pune Devils

Bangla Tigers vs Northern Warriors

Qalandars vs Deccan Gladiators

ERROR: Macro /ads/dfp-ad-article-new is missing!
MORE FROM Khaleej Times
CurrentRequestUnmodified: /sport/cricket/england-turn-to-saqlain-to-combat-spin-problem macro_action: article, macro_profile: , macro_adspot:
KT App Download
khaleejtimes app

All new KT app
is available
for download:

khaleejtimes - android khaleejtimes - ios khaleejtimes - HUAWEI AppGallery