UAE: Passenger flights from 6 countries suspended until July 31

Web Report/Dubai
Filed on July 17, 2021 | Last updated on July 28, 2021 at 10.53 am

(Reuters file)

Several South Asian and African countries affected.

Dubai-based airline, Emirates, announced an extension on flight suspensions from several Asian and African countries.

According to a fresh travel update on the airline's website, in-bound flights from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh would be suspended until at least July 31, 2021.

"The only exemptions are if you are a diplomat or a UAE national or a Golden Visa holder. Your PCR test in this case must be taken a maximum of 48 hours before your flight departure," the carrier said.

Emirates flights to and from South Africa and Nigeria are also suspended until July 31.

In an update on its website, the airline said the extension is in line with government directives that restrict travellers' entry from these two countries into the UAE.

"Only one daily passenger flight to Johannesburg will operate as EK763; however, outbound passenger services on EK764 remain suspended," the airline said.

India, Pakistan flights suspended until at least Aug 2: Etihad

"Customers who have been to or connected through South Africa or Nigeria in the last 14 days will not be permitted on any Emirates flights bound for Dubai," the carrier added.

It is noteworthy that the UAE's General Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA) has not announced an end date to the flight suspensions.

ERROR: Macro /ads/dfp-ad-article-new is missing!
MORE FROM Khaleej Times
CurrentRequestUnmodified: /news/uae-authorities-settle-labour-disputes-worth-dh300-million-in-one-year macro_action: article, macro_profile: ,1664,1000 macro_adspot:
KT App Download
khaleejtimes app

All new KT app
is available
for download:

khaleejtimes - android khaleejtimes - ios khaleejtimes - HUAWEI AppGallery