Happy New Year! Sydney Harbour lights up to ring in 2021 in Australia

Sydney - Crowds banned by the authorities from gathering to watch the fireworks this year due to Covid-19 restrictions



By Web Report

Published: Thu 31 Dec 2020, 5:02 PM

Last updated: Thu 31 Dec 2020, 5:04 PM

A new decade has officially arrived as Australia marks New Year 2021 as fireworks display over Sydney Harbour as Australia ushered in 2021.

Police were on patrol at the Sydney Opera House as crowds have were banned by the authorities from gathering to watch the fireworks as people have been asked to stay at home this year and ring in 2021.

The country usually welcomes the New Year with iconic fireworks over the Sydney Harbour, but this year’s fireworks display was shortened keeping in line with the Covid-19 restrictions.

The first countries in the world to celebrate a New Year are the Pacific islands of Tonga, Samoa and Christmas /Kiribati, where it commences on December 31 at 10 am (GMT, 2pm UAE). The last place to welcome the New Year are the Howland and Baker Islands, near the United States, at 12 pm (GMT, 4pm UAE) on January 1.

Photo: Twitter
Photo: Twitter

More news from New Year 2021