Przygonski completes back-to-back World Cup victories in Dubai

Przygonski completes back-to-back World Cup victories in Dubai
Jakub Przygonski tackles the challenging conditions during the second leg of the Dubai International Baja.

Dubai - UAE-based Aaron Mare claims bikes title

Published: Sat 9 Mar 2019, 5:44 PM

Last updated: Sat 9 Mar 2019, 7:50 PM

Jakub Przygonski, Poland's reigning world champion, secured his second successive victory in the Dubai International Baja with a powerful surge on the second leg to deny the UAE's Khalid Al Qassimi.
UAE-based South African rider Aaron Mare, who had led at the half way point last year before being halted by mechanical failure, captured the bikes title from Frenchman Benjamin Melot who finished runner up for the third time in succession.
Partnered by German co-driver Timo Gottschalk in a Mini John Cooper Works Buggy, Przygonski overhauled Al Qassimi's 48-seconds overnight cars lead to take victory by 1 min 10 secs from the Emirati and Frenchman Xavier Panseri in an Abu Dhabi Racing Peugeot 3008 DKR.
Finishing third another two minutes two seconds away in the second round of the 2019 FIA World Cup for Cross Country Bajas?for cars and buggies were the Czech pairing of Martin Prokop and David Kripal in a Ford Raptor RS Cross Country.
Setting the fastest time on the 204.93km Nissan stage, Russia's Vladimir Vasilyev and Konstantin Zhiltsov in a Toyota Hilux Overdrive took fourth place ahead of Benediktas Vanagas and Bartlomiej Boba in another Hilux. Czechs Miroslav Zapletal and Marek Sykora in a F150 Evo completed the top six.
Extending his overnight lead, Mare took his Husqvarna to the bikes crown by 7mins 42secs from Melot's KTM as the opening round of this year's FIM Bajas World Cup?for bikes and quads reached its finish back at Dubai Autodrome, the official rally base.
Another UAE-based South African rider, Mark Ackerman, finished 1 mins 3 secs further away in third on his Husqvarna. Kuwait's Mohammed Jaffar on a KTM, Emirati Sultan Balooshi on a Kawasaki and UAE-based Ryan Blair on a Husqvarna completed the top six.
Success for the host country came in the quads category, with Emirati Khalifa Al Raisse on a Honda 700 TRX winning with 14 mins 45 secs to spare from Saudi Abdulmajeed Al Khulaifi on a Yamaha.
Russians Alexander Baranenko and Alexander Gorkov in a Toyota Land Cruiser won the T2 production category.

Provisional results:

1. Jakub Przygonski/Timo Gottschalk 5:15:10
2. Khalid Al Qassimi/Xavier Panseri 5:16:20
3. Martin Prokop/Jan Tomanek 5:18:22
4. Vladimir Vasilyev/Konstantin Zhiltsov 5:20:52
5. Benediktas Vanagas/Bartlomiej Boba 5:38:56
1. Aaron Mare 16:10:13
2. Benjamin Melot 16:17:55
3. Mark Ackerman 16:18:58
4. Mohammed Jaffar 16:20:10
5. Sultan Balooshi 16:29:25

More news from Local Sports