Fanatic (Rak) dig deep, win title

Fanatic (Rak) defeated Al Futtaim Honda by two wickets to win the Third Junior Corporate T20 in a low-scoring final at Umm Al Quwain.

By Kt Report

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Fri 29 Jun 2012, 11:38 AM

Last updated: Tue 7 Apr 2015, 1:57 PM

Electing to bat after calling the coin correctly, Al Futtaim Honda struggled with the bat and managed to score 121 losing all the wickets.

Fanatic (Rak) reached the victory target with three balls to spare losing eight wickets.

The tournament, held under the supervision of the Emirates Cricket Board and played under the auspices of the Ajman Cricket Council, is being organized by Umm Al Quwain Cricket.

Al Futtaim Honda began badly losing both their openers cheaply as Qamar Mukhtar fell for seven while Anoop Ravindranath was out after he had opened his account with a single.

However, Shahid Moosa and Asghar Butt restored some order in Al Futtaim Honda innings. Both scored 23 runs but as soon as they departed the Honda innings crumbled again. Angad Ajgaonkar made some valiant efforts with a well-made 32-ball 32 runs and hit two boundaries but he failed to revive Al Futtaim recovery as failed to find support from his team-mates who were all out without reaching double-digit scores.

Mudasir Wazeer was the most successful bowler for the winners claiming three wickets for 15 runs in his four-over spell. Vaidyanath P bagged two for six in his two overs while Krishna Chandran, Nashwan Nasir, Asim Sayed and Harish K picked up one each as they restricted Al Futtaim Honda to 121.Fanatic (Rak) also did not begin their reply strongly with opener Ajith S out for a duck on the first ball he faced. His partner Krishna Chandran, however, stuck to his task and scored a 38-ball 32 runs which laid a good foundation for the other batsmen to carry forward in their chase. Chandran reached the boundary on two occasions.

Harish K scored a dozen run while Ragunath R made 13 from an equal number of balls.

Vaidyanath P (5), Shailesh (5) Nashwan Nasir (5), Mudasir Wazeer (7 not out), Santosh Pandit (7) and Asim Syed (6 not out) made some useful contributions as Fanatic reached the target with three balls to spare.

Asghar Butt claimed two wickets for 20 runs with one of his four overs going maiden and Harikrishnan two for 29. John Coutinho and Arif Hussain picked up one each for 24 and 22 runs respectively.

Mudasir Wazeer of Fanatic (Rak) was named the man of the final.

Brief scores

Fanatic (Rak) beat Al Futtaim Honda by two wickets. Al Futtaim Honda 121 all out (Angad Ajgaonkar 32, Asghar Butt 23, Shahid Moosa 23; Mudasir Wazeer 3-15, Vaidyanath P 2-6, Harish K 1-26, Asim Syed 1-27, Nashwan Nasir 1-27, Krishna Chandran 1-17). Fanatic (Rak) 122 for 8 in 19.3 overs (Krishna Chandran 37, Ragunath R 13, Harish K 12; Asghar Butt 2-20, Harikrishnan 2-29, Arif Hussain 1-22, John Coutinho 1-24).

Man of the final: Mudasir Wazeer of Fanatic (Rak).

More news from