Al Qantara T20 from today

ABU DHABI - Three new teams will compete with 29 other teams for the Al Qantara Twenty20 Trophy which begins at the Shaikh Zayed International Cricket Stadium from Friday.

By James Jose

Published: Sat 30 Mar 2013, 1:32 AM

Last updated: Sat 4 Apr 2015, 9:06 AM

Shabiya XI, Schlumberger and Northern Technical are the three new teams who will fight it out with the rest for the Dh 7,500 winners cheque.

Abu Dhabi heavyweights William Hare Abu Dhabi Gymkhana are the defending champions of the tournament and once again look favourites. They have been drawn in Group E along with Al Fahim CC, CCC and Discount.

This is the second year that Al Qantara Contracting Company are sponsoring the tournament. The Al Qantara T20 Trophy is the 10th tournament of an already packed season which has had 500 games scheduled. The winners prize money has been increased to Dh 7,500 from Dh 6,000 last year. Groups:

  • Group A: ADAS, Bin Ham Travels, Shabiya XI, Elite CC.
  • Group B: Tatweer, Royal Gymkhana, Al Masaood, Emistate Realty.
  • Group C: Royal CC, Schlumberger, Brooke Bond, Desire CC.
  • Group D: Daman Insurance, Colombo Lions, ADIB, NPCC.
  • Group E: Al Fahim CC, CCC, Discount, William Hare Abu Dhabi Gymkhana.
  • Group F: Bankers XI, ADAT, Fast Rent-a-Car, Northern Technical.
  • Group G: Darwish CC, Etihad Airways, Robert Stone, Al Qantara.
  • Group H: ACE, Thrifty Car Rental, ADMA-OPCO, UBL.

More news from Local Sports