Al Jabeen win UAQ T20 title

Al Jabeen put on a fine show to defeat Welkin Group (Al Manal) by 28 runs in the final.

Published: Thu 18 Jun 2015, 2:31 PM

Last updated: Wed 8 Jul 2015, 3:11 PM

Umm Al Quwain — Yasir Kaleem struck a superb half century to ensure Al Jabeen emerged triumphant in the seventh Umm Al Quwain Premier T20 League. The tournament was organised by Umm Al Quwain Cricket Association and is held under the supervision of the Emirates Cricket Board and played under the auspices of the Ajman Cricket Council and Domestic Cricket Development Committee.

Al Jabeen put on a fine show to defeat Welkin Group (Al Manal) by 28 runs in the final.

Batting first after winning the toss, Al Jabeen suffered an early blow with Ateeq Mehmood departing without disturbing the scoreboard.

But it did not matter for Yasir Kaleem as he hammered Welkin Group bowlers to smash a brilliant 86 from just 39 deliveries. His entertaining innings saw him send the ball packing to the ropes on 14 occasions and thrice over it.
Jawed Imam Siddiqui supported him well playing at a steady pace to score 21 from 22 deliveries including a boundary.

Abid Choudhri (21, 12b, 3x4) and Saqlain Mohammed (20, 16b, 4x4) provided the late fireworks to ensure Al Jabeen crossed the 200-run mark to post a superb 204 for nine in 20 overs.

For Welkin Group, Irfan Sajjad, Baber Ghazanfar and Fayyaz Ahmed all claimed two wickets.

Chasing a stiff target, Welkin Group were given a steady start with Manal Siddique (14, 6b, 2x4, 1x6) and Manish Sodan (12, 7b, 3x4) seeing off the early threat from Al Jabeen bowlers.

But three quick wickets did disturb their flow before Fayyaz Ahmed rose to the occasion to put Welkin Group back into the fight to fire a powerful half century. His 35-ball 69 consisting of 13 boundaries and a six meant Al Welkin kept their hopes alive but once he departed none of the other batsmen showed any grit except Abdul Gafoor Butt’s 21 ball 28 as Al Welkin Group succumbed to 177 in 18 overs.

For the winners, Saqlain Mohammed, Lucky Abbas, Yaqoob Richi and Naeem Khan all bagged two wickets each.

More news from Local Sports