Harradine takes lead

DUBAI - Michael Harradine of Emirates Golf Club set an early pace in the Emirates Golf Federation’s Order of Merit for the 2010-2011 season after carving up an impressive victory in the Shaikh Rashid Trophy which concluded at the Jebel Ali Golf Resort and Spa on Saturday.

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Thu 28 Oct 2010, 12:26 AM

Last updated: Mon 6 Apr 2015, 5:18 AM

The 27-year-old golfer, who earned maximum 30 points for his efforts, has opened up a six-point lead from Daniel Hendry, his fellow club member and the reigning Junior Order of Merit champion, while Abdalla Al Musharrekh, a member of the UAE national team, is placed third with 22 points, two ahead of Arabian Ranches Golf Club’s Douglas McLennan.

Khalid Yousuf, at present representing the UAE in the Eisenhower Trophy along with Abdalla, lies in fifth place with 19 points to his credit, going into the Sharjah Wanderers Golf Club Men’s Open, the second event on the Order of Merit, which will be played on November 12 and 13.

“We had a great start to this season Order of Merit, thanks to the overwhelming response to the Shaikh Rashid Trophy,” said Saeed Albudoor, general manger of the Emirates Golf Federation. “With as many as 12 events on this season’s Order of Merit we can expect some intense fight developing before the finale in April. We welcome the addition of the Yas Links Men’s Open, The Els Club Open and the Palm Sports Resort Open to the Order of Merit this season. These events will certainly make the race for honours even more attractive. We, at the Emirates Golf Federation, would like to thanks all the clubs and players for all their support,” he added.

EGF Order of Merit leaders after the Shaikh Rashid Trophy: 1: Michael Harradine (EGC) 30 points, 2: Daniel Hendry (EGC) 24, 3: Abdalla Al Musharrekh (DCGYC) 22, 4: Douglas McLennan (ARGC) 20, 5: Khalid Yousuf (EGC) 19, 6: Ricky Dominguez (EGF) 18, T-7: Miki Mirza DCGYC 16, T-7 Joel Neale (EGC) 16, T-7: Khalid Attieh (ARGC)16, T-10: Brett Armstrong (ABGC) 13, T-10: Hassan Al Musharrekh (DCGYC) 13, T-10: Martin Vertigen (EGF) 13.

More news from